We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for birders and all nature lovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellfleet Aubudon Sanctuary

Wellfleet Aubudon Sanctuary
Wellfleet, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
North Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Great stop for birders and all nature lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Excellent stop for birders, or just those looking for a connection to the Cape Cod natural world without all the people and commercialism.

Great visitors' center. Excellent trails and boardwalks connecting to several types of ecosystems (dunes, estuaries, wooded areas, etc.).

$5 per person might seem a bit steep, but it goes to help support Mass Audubon, which is doing extraordinary work statewide. Or you can become a member for $32, get admission for a year to the entire statewide network of wildlife sanctuaries, and get other prizes too!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    18
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“LOVE this place! Great for anyone who loves wildlife!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It was amazing to see such a large area of land designated as a wildlife sanctuary. There were birds everywhere, including other wild life such as deer, rabbits, turkeys, etc. The Audubon also has a wonderful program called Sea Turtle rescue. This program was amazing! We were able to learn about turtles and actually go onto the beaches to save them. We were successful in some but not always. The experience was life changing and made me really appreciate life and what we as humans can do to save another creature's life. I highly recommend visiting this place and better yet, become a member and support their efforts! I loved this program so much that we are going again in November!! Makes you feel good inside!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

You really can't go wrong. For $5 bucks, you can hike the many trails with beautiful wildlife. This is a bird watcher's dream. I came here without binoculars but the staff let us borrowed one each with our car key as a deposit. We saw some beautiful birds on our walk.

The nature center also has a bird watching area along with some very cute chipmunks and red squirrels competing for food.

Check the tide schedule before you come - at high tide, some trails won't be walkable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Small but lovely and a great side trip from tourist craziness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The birding here is relatively limited. Instead, the Sanctuary is a marvelous oasis from the tourist press that is typical on the Cape during the season. There are lots of walking paths, many of them sheltered from the sun, with great views of the swampy areas and marshes. The Sanctuary is on the bay side of Wellfleet (accessed in South Wellfleet) and is totally different from the backshore National Seashore Park. I always take young kids here; the paths and exhibits are just right and not too much. The little park store is fun, too, as they usually have some attractive mementos for kids, rather than typical tourist junk. Very modest charge, as well. This is what the Cape used to look like. The one place on the Cape that can be visited during the high season without being overrun by people.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rude staff, no information, barren...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Firstly, finding the place is tricky because the sign is tiny and on the wrong side of the road, so if you do go make sure you've pinpointed where it is before setting off.

Had to wait whilst person on reception talked to the person behind us in the queue for some time who was the daughter of a friend of hers - how rude! Then offish and unhelpful.

Lovely new reception centre is adorned with posters about how green it was until you were sick of it. Maybe it's special in the US but in the UK you would just expect it to be a green building for a conservation organisation (get over it!). Also, I'm afraid I disagree with keeping any kind of animals, including fish, in tanks just so kids can have something interesting to look at.

No information on any of the trails, no 'display boards', just a badly photocopied map to follow and it appears an audio trail, which we weren't told about. There were also numbered points around the trails, but what they referred to who knows??

What was even more disappointing was the total lack of any wildlife, well unless you count this as an exciting list: grey squirrels, crows, gulls and a handful of waders. Maybe the screaming out of control children roaming the entire site had scared everything off (maybe they ought to be kept in tanks??? :-) )

A total waste of time - go elsewhere, anywhere - these people don't deserve your support.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellfleet Aubudon Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Wellfleet Aubudon Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellfleet Aubudon Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.