We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birding Hot Spots Van Trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wellfleet Aubudon Sanctuary

Wellfleet Aubudon Sanctuary
Wellfleet, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Rochester, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Birding Hot Spots Van Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Good idea but it didn't work. We would have seen more variety of birds just sitting in the Audubon lodge looking at the outdoor feeders. Driver spent most of the time roaming around woods and home sites. When we finally reached the ocean and saw bird, he didn't even have a scope along or pause long enough for identification or views. Waste of $$ - at this time of year.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    18
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“well laid out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

unfortunately there were not many birds in the marshes at this time of year, but we did see several at the feeders

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you love wildlife, and peaceful trails to walk and explore, visit here! There is also a small information area, in the visitor center, that helps teach about native species. A quaint gift shop is available in the visitor center. If you enjoy nature, you'll probably loose yourself for a few hours here. A welcome respite.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun outing for our family.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went there with our one year old son during our vacation to Provincetown. It was a fun, leisurely outing and we loved that we could go at our own pace. Definitely worth the stop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun place to relax and enjoy nature!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a great place to take a nice, long leisurely walk. There were over 5 miles of trails but they all branch off from the visitor's center so you can choose how far you want to go. It's a beautiful place and educational too.. I think kids would absolutely love it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellfleet Aubudon Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Wellfleet Aubudon Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellfleet Aubudon Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.