We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real outer cape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wellfleet Aubudon Sanctuary

Wellfleet Aubudon Sanctuary
Wellfleet, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 attractions in Wellfleet
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
western mass
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The real outer cape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The great thing about the outer cape, and Wellfleet in particular, is that it provides you opportunities to see what the outer cape was before people populated it. The great thing about this sanctuary's trails, all of which are well-maintained and easy to walk on, is that they show you so many different aspects of the outer cape - a freshwater pond, salt marsh, tidal flat, etc. Of course, along with this diversity of flora is lots of different fauna: red wing blackbirds, turtles, fiddler crabs, live horseshoe crabs, etc. (My son discovered that they have live horseshoe crabs by picking up by the "tail" one that he thought was dead. Of course, we would never knowingly pick up a live crab, but it was first one we'd ever seen that was alive. My son got quite a shock, but a thrilling one. Young kids may be impatient with the walk, unless they're carried, but they seem to perk right up when you finally get to the boardwalk and tidal flat, which you should get to at low tide. There is more to get out of the sanctuary that we weren't able to take advantage of - adult field classes, boat trips to see the seals, etc. (see their website!) - but I'm sure they are equally rewarding if not more so.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    15
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Favorite activity on the cape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family has been vacationing in the cape since I was born and my favorite place to go is the Wellfleet Audubon Sanctuary. The Sanctuary is a great get away from the beaches with its shaded walk ways through the marshes and the great guided tours. This is a must see for everyone coming to the cape!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“This place is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The trails here are superb. You can go through many habitats and see a large variety of wildlife. I especially recommend this for nature lovers, and bird watchers. After getting your nature fix here, visit the bird store in Orleans for some unique shopping and souvenirs! You won't be disappointed with this Audubon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place has grown over the years from a dirt road and outhouses to a full facility and summer programs. Worth a visit for the hikes even if you are nit a birder.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place to walk in Wellfleet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Take the hike to Goose Pond and then do the Bay View hike. It's just gorgeous. They have bird watching hikes and many other activities. I could have walked around for hours.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellfleet Aubudon Sanctuary also viewed

Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Wellfleet Aubudon Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellfleet Aubudon Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.