We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary

Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
P.O. Box 236, South Wellfleet, Wellfleet, MA 02663
508-349-2615
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Attractions in Wellfleet
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Birdwatching, Hiking, Viewing wildlife, Viewing foliage, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This preserve is a great place to commune with nature and watch the sunset.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“All Season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We typically travel to the Cape during the warmer weather like most people, but we recently went to the Cape for a long weekend. With not much to do on the Cape in the winter, we searched for things to do with the kids and found some cool things happen here. One of the events was the Owl Prowl. Kids sat around and participated in an interactive Owl demo. After the sit down, we went on a trail to see if we could see anything nature related. This was our first time here and were really surprised at the unique trail and to see the marshes and bay. it was sunset, so it was an extra treat. I know that we will definitely look up activities happening here next visit and probably go for an independent hike as well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good birding & great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Part of the National Seashore. Several nice trails near water allow many scenic views & opportunity to see birds. Not usually crowded if you walk over a half mile from parking.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't Miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I'm ashamed to say I have lived on the Cape for many years and hadn't been to the Sanctuary,it took visitors from out of town to get me there.wonderful views and birds with lots of interesting displays but the trails and views of the marshes and bay were awesome.Go check it out.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Not something you would expect. This is the quiet part of the cape and very nice for the entire family.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bird walks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Gone to a few of there birding walks with very informative guides
Large grounds, on the ocean, very well marked trails and beautiful surroundings, Even if your not a birder, very enjoyable walk

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.