We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th time here..always reliable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellfleet Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wellfleet Motel to your Saves list
Wellfleet Motel
170 U.S. 6, South Wellfleet, Wellfleet, MA 02663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$79 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wellfleet
GreenLeadersSilver level
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“5th time here..always reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My history with the Wellfleet motel started in 1994. My wife and I bought a house, planned a wedding and got married within a 5 month time span that year. We were in our late 30s so no help from the parents ( which was good... This is a positive). As you can imagine after all that, cash was slim. So we cleaned up after the after parties and headed to the Cape. Our first trip to the Cape was a couple of years earlier when we went camping at Highlands campground at head of the meadow. We both love the lower and outer Cape. With no reservations we ventured forth and found a room in the lodge portion of the Wellfeet Inn and Lodge. Now we return on our Anniversary several times to here and the Crows Nest in North Truro.

The Wellfleet is a well run operation, a clean but distinctly Cape Cod motel with a very friendly staff, a nice indoor pool... A small but pleasant saltwater outdoor pool. The rooms are comfortable, clean. No it's not a 5 Star hotel. I like the breakfast spot. Harringtons makes yummy breakfasts and the hash is wonderful. No it's not included but you get a much better breakfast than thos rather mundane included ones. This time we stayed in the Motel wing, room had a small refridgerator, Kuerig coffee maker, a come queen bed, two chairs and sitting table a rather new flat LG flat screen on the wall. No pets( thank god) and no smoking. Both pluses in my review.

Room Tip: Lower level of the lodge if you can (patio doors onto a patio and lawn). Otherwise. All,decent. I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted606, General Manager at Wellfleet Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and return often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    55
    22
    19
    4
See reviews for
48
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My family have stayed here in July and August many times over the years. The owners take great pride in providing comfortable rooms with nice amenities such as indoor salt water pool and a delicious breakfast restaurant, and a handy ice machine for coolers. The location is spot on, as you can drive to Orleans for larger shopping, cruise to Provincetown within a reasonable time, or be at the National Sea Shore in minutes. Wellfleet Drive In and Flea market is just down the street. Price is average for the area. Is it it perfect ?......no. It is however, a dependable,well run establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted606, General Manager at Wellfleet Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your comments. We try our best to create a pleasant and relaxing vacation environment for our guests so they become repeat customers. Many of our rooms have private balconies or patios. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great, centralized location that enabled us to explore the Cape, and just minutes away from Marconi Beach...one of the nicest beaches We've ever visited. Good food in walking distance. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean. If they would only invest in higher quality sheets, blankets and towels this would have been a 5 star review.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

A very good choice. A wide variety of room types at competitive prices. Back from the highway and very quiet around a large inner court. Clean rooms with refrigerators, decks and patios make for a pleasant ambiance. Very congenial and accommodating hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Quirky little motel. We stayed in room 20 which looked like one of the newer blocks. Clean and basic. Maid service was very good. Friendly welcome by staff, they helped us with maps etc. We stayed five nights and explored all over the cape. The motel is 30 minutes away from most of the popular sights. The pool was nice but a bit too close the the main route 6 (I could smell the car fumes which was not very relaxing). It's not really very near the main part of Wellfleet, so a car is vital.
Check out the drive in movie theatre, it's just over the road (but take your bug spray)!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I tried to book online through hotels.com. It stated that we were booking the last room. When we tried to complete processing we got an error indicating that the room was booked while we were waiting. While searching for an aternative, the room came up again so we called the number listed below the hotel and booked through that.. The next night we got to the hotel to find we had two rooms booked instead of one. We used the more modest of the two rooms and figured we would straighten it out in the morning. Anyways, the management wanted to hold us accountable for both rooms but after some negotiating decided to compromise so that we only had to pay for a portion of the second room. Now a place of excellence would have written this off as an innocent error out of the control of the guest and a sleazy hotel would have made us pay the whole bill. So this was about in the middle (3 of 5 stars). The hotel was in an excellent location on the Bike path so I would give it a 4 to 5 star rating for that. The rooms were a bit on the dank side with 3 star linens so 3 stars for that. Breakfast was pleasant and well prepared so 4 stars for that. Lastly it apppears that I was bitten by a bed bug. The bites are in a straight line right up one of my veins (I have pictures). This is characteristic of a bed bug but I didn't actually see it, so it is only a suspicion (1 star - Eck!!). I realize even the best of establishments can have this issue. However, Having paid just shy of $300 per night after the booking debacle, it just left a really bad taste in my mouth. My rating would be 2.5 stars but since I can't give it that ... 2 it is.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted606, General Manager at Wellfleet Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear guest, It was unfortunate that you accitdentally made 2 reservations for yourself. 2 rooms were taken out of inventory and we did not have an opportunity to sell the second room until the following morning when you came to register for the room (late arrival after the office was closed.) We always prefer to have guests call us directly to make reservations or book on our website to avoid problems like this. iWe take all comments regarding bedbugs very seriously. Your room was inspected by a professional and nothing was found

I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us. It's a graeat way to start the day and having the breakfast cafe on property makes it very convenient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Room was clean ,comfortable & quiet. Friendly owner. Felt we paid slightly too much for a room & no breakfast! Near all sights.We debated about staying another night but the price put us off. Overall we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted606, General Manager at Wellfleet Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found the room comfortable and our location convenient. Just to let you in on an insider tip the best value rates of the season are in June, September and October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellfleet Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellfleet Motel

Address: 170 U.S. 6, South Wellfleet, Wellfleet, MA 02663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wellfleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
65 Room Resort located on 12 acres between the National Seashore and the Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary. Indoor/outdoor pools - hot tub - suites - king beds - Free Wi-Fi - Harrigan's Cafe - bike trail - B&B packages. Newly renovated. Green Certified. Solar powered. AAA Rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Wellfleet Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellfleet Hotel Wellfleet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellfleet Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.