We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garcia Trading Post, Chinle, AZ 86503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Chinle
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Rooms were clean enough, if showing some wear. We stayed at Best Westerns throughout the entire trip, and this one was by far the least friendly (maybe because of lack of local competition?). Pool was out of order, and the taps were running brown water when we arrived, and the staff was unapologetic; however, to give them their due, they did at least fix the brown water situation by bedtime (however, the pool, much to the consternation of the families with kids, remained closed--and the temperatures were over 100).

The restaurant right next door is the only game in town unless you want Church's fried chicken, but the restaurant is likewise clean and it seems to be where the local townspeople eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Kathy L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with our facilities and the service you received. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    245
    143
    44
    9
See reviews for
118
250
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avondale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I do have some nice things to say about the Holiday Inn, Canyon de Chelly, but first... the wi-fi signal was weak everywhere but the lobby! POOR... that's the word my tablet kept using to describe the signal strength.

It's 2013, more people need and want wi-fi. Do you think I want to watch your stupod TV? No, I want to watch Netflix on my tablet. I'd also like to upload photos, check email, and chat with friends on Facebook. Just in case the manager of this hotel is reading... Install more routers in your buildings for God's sake.

Nice hotel. Clean, nice pool. The restaurant has odd hours, didn't serve lunch. Other than the massive frustration I felt about the wi-fi signal, it was an nice, average hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mr_Markus2013,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to help us continually improve our guests services.

I am sorry to hear your dissatisfaction with our WiFi services. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, IL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great location to the entrance of Canyon de Chelly. You literally can see the entrance to the park from the hotel parking lot. We were surprised with all the wild horses and dogs roaming around the reservation. There were cows roaming too, but we were told they were branded and belonged to someone. Be prepared for that, we had to wait to enter the hotel parking lot while a wild horse sauntered past our van. She was in no hurry. Another surprising thing, were all the wild dogs that roamed the hotel property. You can tell they are well fed from all the hotel vistors and for the most part friendly. We just had to keep reminding our children they were wild. The puppies stayed with us while we played in the pool.

As for the hotel accomidations, the grounds were very nice. They did a nice job centering the pool in the middle of the buildings. It gave you a courtyard feel, but it wasnt a courtyard. Very private. The pool was great and large enough for the kids to play in.

Our room was good. Pretty standard for a Holiday Inn.


There is no breakfast offered in your stay, but in the main building where you check-in is really one of two restaurants in the area. We ate both dinner and breakfast here. Wonderful food, great service, and speedy. The Navajo taco is a must try. I would recommend splitting it with someone if you arent a big eatter. The fry bread was another favorite of the family. Any of their breakfast items were good. The green chiles sauce was not bad either.

The GM out there was great. We left our camera battery and charger in our room upon leaving. We called the hotel within an hour to tell them. It was no problem. They mailed it to our home UPS. No charge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jouy en Josas, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly 21 years ago, shortly after it opened and had excellent memories, though vague. Coming back, two decades later, we found that the hotel remained excellent in every respect (reception, room, breakfast). Consistency over time that give confidence...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyldesley, Lancashire
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

A rather nice motel which is well laid out with ample room size and all the expected facilities. We could not find anything negative to say about the room nor the motel itself. A good night's sleep was enjoyed and we rose early and hit the road without trying the restaurant for either the evening meal or breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We arrived a bit early in order that we could take a tour of Canyon de Chelly, and were very grateful to the staff bending over backwards to get our room ready so we could check in early. That kind of help always goes over well, and we will remember it. The room itself was very clean and comfortable, and had everything we needed. The restaurant offers up a good choice and reasonable prices. Well worth staying here for a night or two, and is especially convenient to the visitor center (where tours to the canyon commence)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

While on a recent business trip to the area, I stayed at the Holiday in near Canyon de Chelly in Chinle. The premises was OK, a bit older, but nice enough. I had booked a King or Queen room and when I got to my room, the fresh pervasive odor of much cigarette smoke, to which I am allergic, hit me hard. I immediately phoned the front desk and was told, in not so polite a manner, that they could put me in a room with 2 double beds but that was it. I am a big guy so that was not going to work. I found some spray on a maids cart and covered the room in it and opened up the windows to let the room air out and stayed, but, was not happy with the curt service reply and lack of any attempt of accommodation. I will say the wait staff in the hotel's restaurant, which was very good, were quite nice and friendly. Front desk staff could use some additional training in my view.

Room Tip: Make sure they let you know if they are sticking you in a smoker's room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Joel C,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered over the the smell of smoke and over the unsatisfactory service you received from the desk staff. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly

Address: Garcia Trading Post, Chinle, AZ 86503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Chinle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Chinle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly hotel in Chinle, Arizona is located at the gateway to the Canyon de Chelly National Monument, the 2nd largest canyon in the United States! Just minutes from the canyon, you can tour the area with one of the local tour guides or you may do a self-guided tour of the canyon look-out points. The canyon has a total of 11 look-out points, all which have views of ancient ruins, petroglyphs, and pictographs. The hotel is a part of the historic Garcia's Trading Post located in the heart of the Navajo Nation Reservation. Enjoy a delicious meal in the Garcia's Restaurant which has a casual southwestern flavor. Or if you would rather enjoy a quiet and private meal, room service is available during regular restaurant hours. In our giftshop you can find beautiful Native American jewelry and southwestern works of art. For your convenience, vehicle tours into the canyon are available at the giftshop. At the end of the day, you can take a stroll through our beautiful courtyard or take a refreshing dip in our heated, outdoor pool(seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Canyon De Chelly Hotel Chinle
Holiday Inn Chinle
Chinle Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.