We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for where it is, but strange unwelcoming vibe.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garcia Trading Post, Chinle, AZ 86503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chinle
Bonsall, California
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
460 helpful votes 460 helpful votes
“Fine for where it is, but strange unwelcoming vibe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice and well maintained. It is located right outside the entrance to Canyon de Chelly, so close, in fact, that you can see the sign for the visitor center. This puts it outside of the town itself, which is a good thing. The only other "real" hotel in town is the Best Western near the highway and it looks like a good choice, also. The major difference is that the Holiday Inn is a hotel and the BW is a motel with outside entrances to the rooms. I'm not sure if there is a security problem in this area or not. We never felt unsafe and the few local people we encountered were friendly. The Holiday Inn's buildings have indoor corridors and you need your keycard to unlock the door to the corridor. We also saw a security guard in the parking lot, even during the day, so we felt fairly safe here.

The grounds are attractive and nicely landscaped. There is a pool in the center of the complex that looks good. The hotel was full the first night we were there and the pool was never overcrowded. Our room had a sliding glass door that opened onto the lawn around the pool area, which was pleasant.

The decor in the room is very dated, but in good condition. Everything was very clean in the room and all over the hotel. The carpet was clean and there was no mold in the shower. There was a refrigerator sitting on the floor in an odd place, but it was fine. The bath amenities provided were nice and housekeeping was prompt and friendly. Free wi-fi worked, but was slow. The room was very quiet due to the block walls separating the rooms and we never heard anyone walking above us or outside. We heard the usual slamming doors in the hallway, but nothing out of the ordinary.

The housekeeper we saw in the hall both mornings is the only person at this hotel who was at all friendly. She always said hello to us and seemed genuinely nice. That brings me to the unwelcoming feeling we got overall from this place. Everyone did their job, but they all acted like they'd rather be anywhere else but serving the guests. By the looks of this town, I personally would prefer to be here than elsewhere in the city, but maybe there is something exciting to do that I overlooked. The girl who checked us in was OK, not outstanding, but fine. She seemed to be the only one working the front desk who had any knack for customer service.

The hotel's restaurant is only open for breakfast and dinner. The hours posted did not match reality, so be sure to check the schedule. Breakfast was fine with the same Holiday Inn menu you'll find everywhere. Dinner was terrible! I don't know where the people who say the food is great here usually eat, but I don't think I've ever had such bland food in my life. The Navajo Taco tasted like wet air...no exaggeration...and the platter that features one of just about every Mexican item you can think of tasted like nothing at all. I don't think the kitchen owns a salt shaker let alone any other spices. All I can say in favor of the food is that it didn't make us sick and the portions were large. Service in the restaurant was friendly-ish, but many mistakes were made. I found it particularly off-putting that the staff was sitting at tables eating while the restaurant was still open. They'd get up to check on their customers and go back to their meal. It gave the impression that the guests were always bothering them. I saw managers doing the same thing, so this behavior is obviously OK with them. I've been in customer service most of my life and that kind of thing wouldn't fly if I was the boss. By the way, Platinum Club Rewards members get 10% off in the restaurant if you have your card or know the number.

I sort of thought at the time that maybe the stand-offish attitude was a cultural thing, but we stayed at a Navajo-owned and staffed hotel after this one and everyone there was beyond helpful and friendly. The people working at Church's Chicken up the street were very nice also, so it isn't like there aren't any customer service oriented people available.

Anyway, the hotel itself is fine. I'd probably stay here again if I find myself in Chinle again. To be honest though, I hope I don't.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    273
    158
    42
    11
See reviews for
134
285
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santee, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very nice room. Price a little high but not alot of choices. Nice Restaurant ( Garcia's) in building. Great food there. Located right outside Canyon de Chelly!! The grounds were very pretty with a nice looking pool.

Room Tip: I would stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way through the area along with a brief visit to Canyon de Chelly. The location is pretty good, being close to the canyon but not terribly near anything else. Fortunately, it has its own restaurant. (See separate restaurant review.) The rooms are clean, pretty well appointed, and clean. Service was quite good. Nice gift shop as well. Easy to find. Nice grounds. We did not run the heat or AC at night, but if we had, it could possibly have been a problem since it was one of those common under-the-window units. No free breakfast since they have a restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Not many choices to eat when visiting Canyon de Chelly - went for dinner here and were pleasantly surprised. Had a fine meal, great service and some really great salsa - if they sold it by the bottle I would have bought 5!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Welcoming staff, accurate reservation. Room was clean and comfortable. Restaurant was tasty (take note of the comments about it not being open at all times - be sure to plan accordingly). It makes a good base to explore Canyon de Chelly. Pool is outdoors, so the coolness of the day meant we did not try it. (I am sure it is very inviting during the summer months.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Ken O,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. I’m glad you found the hotel to your liking and I will pass on your comments about the staff being welcoming and rooms clean and comfortable, it’s always nice to hear we are getting it right. Again, I wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for 2 days. Ground floor room was quiet and comfortable. Nice to be able to open up the sliding glass doors. Restaurant is super with something for everyone and many southwestern selections. Great gift shop! Our tour arranged the day trips, so I can't speak to their help with that but staff was attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, B.C.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is almost right at the park entrance so you can return at lunch to take a break. The hotels restaurant was not always open for lunches (weekends) so check the hours before you go out. The rooms are quiet and clean and have small fridges. The hotel also has a pool. Service at the restaurant could be slow when a bus tour arrives.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear doreenandneil,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly

Address: Garcia Trading Post, Chinle, AZ 86503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Chinle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chinle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly hotel in Chinle, Arizona is located at the gateway to the Canyon de Chelly National Monument, the 2nd largest canyon in the United States! Just minutes from the canyon, you can tour the area with one of the local tour guides or you may do a self-guided tour of the canyon look-out points. The canyon has a total of 11 look-out points, all which have views of ancient ruins, petroglyphs, and pictographs. The hotel is a part of the historic Garcia's Trading Post located in the heart of the Navajo Nation Reservation. Enjoy a delicious meal in the Garcia's Restaurant which has a casual southwestern flavor. Or if you would rather enjoy a quiet and private meal, room service is available during regular restaurant hours. In our giftshop you can find beautiful Native American jewelry and southwestern works of art. For your convenience, vehicle tours into the canyon are available at the giftshop. At the end of the day, you can take a stroll through our beautiful courtyard or take a refreshing dip in our heated, outdoor pool(seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Canyon De Chelly Hotel Chinle
Holiday Inn Chinle
Chinle Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.