We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garcia Trading Post, Chinle, AZ 86503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chinle
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

The room is nice, clean, comfortable quiet. The hallway of the rear building where we stayed smelled of smoke, but the smell did not enter the room. Their kitchen was out of order, but they did set up cereals, rolls, juices, etc. in the morning. Had to enter the exercise room through a conference room and found it freezing cold in the exercise room, I couldn't even break a sweat no matter how hard I worked. But overall this was a good value.

  • Liked — Clean, close to canyon
  • Disliked — Exercise room, smoky hallway
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    273
    158
    42
    11
See reviews for
134
285
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, AZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

Clean and modern. Staff was polite. Walls were thin, so we heard the TV next door till midnight and loose dogs barking in the back. Other than that, everything was fine. Nice stay before / during exploring the amazing canyon.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

I have to agree with some of the reviews posted that Chinle is not, in itself, a tourist attraction. In fact I think it is fair to say that far from being " scruffy " it is a complete dump. There is nothing whatsoever to commend it other than this hotel and especially Canyon De Chelly itself.

First the hotel. I can only say that that is an oasis in a desert. Heart sinking as we drove further and further into the abyss that is Chinle our spirits were restored when we turned into the hotel.

The reception staff on arrival were fine and our room was ready. As for its space and cleanliness these had not, in any way, been compromised. Sliding doors onto a patio area overlooking the pool were a bonus. The bathroom was a very good size and the towels were plentiful and up to the mark. The shower was hopeless however and I now know I should have mentioned this because after the first night wrestling with poor pillows I left a note for housekeeping asking for
firmer pillows. These were waitng for us on return - so full marks there.

There is nowhere to dine in Chinle other than the hotel so you have to use the restaurant. All in all the standard and quality of dining was slightly less than average and at times the level of service wavered between amateurish enthusiam and downright indifference.

There is a nice gift shop but the service there was also erratic.

Check in had been fine. Check out (by the hotel manager who was on duty) was not. He was insistant on charging me for a lunch - packed or otherwise - which we had not had. Eventually with ill grace he determined that the voucher was for breakfast which we had had that morning. The additional local taxes were a bit unexpected.

Do not let this put you off visiting the area however as the jewel in the crown is Canyon de Chelly itself. Just a few minutes up the road the canyon is stunning, magnificent and wholly evocative.

I am at a loss to know why so few white Americans visit this stupendous and wonderful area.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

After driving through Chinle and seeing how scruffy it was, I was pleasantly surprised to find that the Holiday Inn was a nice, clean and modern motel. I would stay here again if needed. Was only here for a night.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

I decided to stay at the Holiday Inn on my recent Canyon De Chelly trip.

My purpose there was for creative business. I found the hotel to be among the best I have stayed in on the Navajo Nation (there have been others). The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. All the amenities that I regularly use were there, and the staff members were friendly and helpful to the best of their ability. The one down side was a guide that I hired to take my 4x4 into the canyon. He was a self proclaimed musician and film-maker. I agreed to buy his CD only to be very disappointed by the quality of the production, musicianship, effects, editing and mixing. I think this fellow thought a great deal more of his music than most who are not so subtly asked to buy it! I can only hope his DVD is of better quality than his CD. This was only a minor issue, as his guiding was poor, he constantly talked about wanting to get home to "look on the internet" and how hungry he was. This man could do well to study the traditions of the Swiss mountain guides (famous throughout the world for their excellence). At the Antelope House ruins, I had to inform him that I was ready to go as he was busy having a snack and chatting with his friends who run the overpriced concession there. We went on to the White House ruins, where one of his friends rudely corrected my Navajo. All the time that this guide was with me, he expressed how much of a hurry he was in to get back "to check the internet." None of this was enough to seriously damage the experience, however it is enough to say that it left a bad taste in my mouth. Suggest that if you take a guided tour into the canyon or drive your own 4x4, do NOT hire a guide from the Holiday Inn, but go to the visitor's center and hire one there. It will still be hit or miss, but you might get a person who knows the art of guiding.

  • Liked — Proxiity to Canyon de Chelly
  • Disliked — Poor quality guide service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor for Chinle accommodation it was with some trepidation that we approached this Holiday Inn. But we need not have worried.
From our greeting on arrival, to our room, the restaurant and the lovely ladies in the gift shop, we could not have been more supprised. Our stay was just great, food in the restaurant more than adequate, staff very pleasant, and the range of gifts in the shop were a delight.
We did a four hour trip into the Canyon, unfortunately our guide had been doing this trip for too long and did not have the vitality that the scene demanded. We met a farmer with a little shop and he should be guiding as he was so forthcoming on the canyon. We learnt more from him in 20 minutes than from the guide of 4 hours. This canyon is an awesome experience and most Americans do not know it even exists.
But overall we enjoyed our stay in Chinle and would like to convey special thanks to the Park Ranger at the visitors center who sent us over the mountains to Farmington. This was a very spectacular drive and his detail on the road was just great.

  • Liked — Close to the Canyon
  • Disliked — Trucks sitting outside our room using the broadband for hours on end.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

This is one of the cleanest hotels I've ever been in. The staff are helpful and friendly, and the location was perfect for exploring the Canyon. Best of all was the food in Garcia's, which was some of the tastiest we've had anywhere. The tortilla soup, quesadillas, and the breakfasts were unbelievable!!!

  • Liked — The cleanliness and the food.
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly

Address: Garcia Trading Post, Chinle, AZ 86503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Chinle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chinle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly hotel in Chinle, Arizona is located at the gateway to the Canyon de Chelly National Monument, the 2nd largest canyon in the United States! Just minutes from the canyon, you can tour the area with one of the local tour guides or you may do a self-guided tour of the canyon look-out points. The canyon has a total of 11 look-out points, all which have views of ancient ruins, petroglyphs, and pictographs. The hotel is a part of the historic Garcia's Trading Post located in the heart of the Navajo Nation Reservation. Enjoy a delicious meal in the Garcia's Restaurant which has a casual southwestern flavor. Or if you would rather enjoy a quiet and private meal, room service is available during regular restaurant hours. In our giftshop you can find beautiful Native American jewelry and southwestern works of art. For your convenience, vehicle tours into the canyon are available at the giftshop. At the end of the day, you can take a stroll through our beautiful courtyard or take a refreshing dip in our heated, outdoor pool(seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Canyon De Chelly Hotel Chinle
Holiday Inn Chinle
Chinle Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.