We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garcia Trading Post, Chinle, AZ 86503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chinle
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

The room is basic, standard Holiday Inn fare and I had a "poolside" twin double. Room 107 is in the ground floor and on the same side of the building as the pool ;). AC was noisey but not really needed while I was there. Location is out of town by a couple of miles.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    273
    158
    42
    11
See reviews for
134
285
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Based on the TA reviews, we weren't expecting this hotel to be much more than average. However, in our two week holiday, this was one of the best rooms we had. The bed was large and very comfy, the room spacious and spotless. The bathroom a good size. All in all, a really nice hotel, which is a relief after driving through Chinle, which is really not up to very much. However, the location in terms of Canyon de Chelly is as good as it gets. One negative comment was the restaurant in the hotel which you're kind of obliged to use given there's not a lot of other choice. We both had the steak, it wasn't well cooked, was pretty small and the accompanying chips were rubbish. Given that it was the most expensive thing on the menu, it really was poor value for money. My advice, don't go for the steak.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

What a pleasant place it is. We stayed there years ago and are pleased that it is still the same convenient hotel. Unfortunately this time very noisy from foot traffic overhead. The restaurant was fine, the airconditioning way too low in the corner were we were sitting. The evening meal took a long time to be delivered, the breakfast very prompt.

But--- don't change the the huge-sized beds every day and don't replace all towels though we hung them up. It seems that in the desert-like environment you should not waste water like that. PLEASE change your policy and be more green-oriented

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel and our room was very good. The room was clean, well appointed and very quiet, perfect.
Sadly this was marred by the restaurant. This hotel is out on its own and really is the only place to eat, especially if you arrive late in the evening as we did.
We had a 30 minute wait which was fine but when we got into the restaurant the service was very slow and when the food came it was cold my husband's steak was the worst we have had in the States it was sinnewy under cooked and not fit for sale yet when we called the waitress over to point this out there was no offer of a replacement. In fact we were told well you've come in when a rush was on. If you are not happy we will take $1.69 off your bill this was in fact just 10% off my husband's meal and nothing for the fact that mine was cold.
Needless to say as amatter of principle we didn't have breakfast there the next day.
I think this is really bad that when they are in an isolated position that they abuse the diners in this way. This was the treatment that we received even after we had asked to speak to the restaurant manager. The manager certainly hadn't been on a customer care course and the serving staff were not really interested in the customer other than plonking the food down on your table and going.
The restaurant really let down what was otherwise a potentially good hotel.
I have to say that this has put me off using Holiday Inn's in the future.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room overlooking the pool. Not sure how noisy during the day but sleeping at night wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear megagran,

Thank you for taking the time to write our hotel a review. I am delighted to know that you found our location and room accommodations commendable enough for your needs. Please accept my sincerest apology if you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the service you received in our restaurant. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource of improving guest satisfaction. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here five nights as part of a Road Scholar program on the Navajo culture and Canyon De Chelly. The hotel is located very close to the visitor's center. Our room was clean and well furnished. The cleaning staff was only fair as they often forgot to replaces soaps, shampoos, etc. We found the help very friendly and helpful and eager to please. We enjoyed our meals the hotel. Lunch and Dinner included a well stocked salad bar. The Wifi worked,but was inconsistent and often failed. Chinle only has three hotels and I would stay at this one again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nr London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellent room. Quiet.Good steak in restaurant. Good location for a visit to the Canyon de Chelly. Had a nice looking pool BUT weather had turned chilly. O.verslept so cannot comment on breakfast. Booked on line and had a lower rate than "turn up on the doorstep" rate. Check out time was 1200 which is useful.

Room Tip: All similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The woman who checked us in was polite and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable.

The Holiday Inn policies seem to trap her into helping us get the discounts we should have had for being Priority Club members and AAA members.

The service in the dining area was awful-I asked for food without cheese twice, was assured it could be accommodated and then was brought food with cheese cooked in. After serving us, the waitress disappeared. We were exhausted (14 hours on the road) at dinner and arrived 15 minutes before closing, , and in a rush to get out in the a.m. , so we couldn't get it fixed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly

Address: Garcia Trading Post, Chinle, AZ 86503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Chinle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chinle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly hotel in Chinle, Arizona is located at the gateway to the Canyon de Chelly National Monument, the 2nd largest canyon in the United States! Just minutes from the canyon, you can tour the area with one of the local tour guides or you may do a self-guided tour of the canyon look-out points. The canyon has a total of 11 look-out points, all which have views of ancient ruins, petroglyphs, and pictographs. The hotel is a part of the historic Garcia's Trading Post located in the heart of the Navajo Nation Reservation. Enjoy a delicious meal in the Garcia's Restaurant which has a casual southwestern flavor. Or if you would rather enjoy a quiet and private meal, room service is available during regular restaurant hours. In our giftshop you can find beautiful Native American jewelry and southwestern works of art. For your convenience, vehicle tours into the canyon are available at the giftshop. At the end of the day, you can take a stroll through our beautiful courtyard or take a refreshing dip in our heated, outdoor pool(seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Canyon De Chelly Hotel Chinle
Holiday Inn Chinle
Chinle Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.