We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nostalgic trip back to the day --- and a child's delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sacred Canyon Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sacred Canyon Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sacred Canyon Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Highway 191, Rural route 7, Chinle, AZ 86503   |  
Hotel amenities
florence,al.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A nostalgic trip back to the day --- and a child's delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Put the Thunderbird and Canyon de Chelly on your bucket list . It's the place where you wish your parents took you when you were a kid---and you"ll be a kid all over again. The place reminds you of the late 40's and early 50's: the room are very clean and larger than most. Fans and beams overhead ;indian motifs. ( Leave the electronic 21st century behind,relax.)
Don't miss the Cafeteria with its Indian decorations(worth a visit by itself.)For fun try the blue corn pancakes. Don't miss the Gift shop, esp. the Tee shirts. Enjoy looking at the Kachinas and other Indian crafts.
Drive along the canyon rim ,stopping at the scenic spots: The White House ruins,Mummy cave,etc. The beauty is breathtaking :The Silence is an experience in itself,spiritual. Absolutely
take a half day guided -tour ride to the canyon bottom.Enter into its spirit.: pictrographs of Spanish blackcoats; horses may run by you.You'll never forget it. Have fun.

Room Tip: Choose a room among the magnificent old cottonwoods, looking onto the little green park area. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    146
    115
    40
    17
See reviews for
115
146
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Lodge for three nights in late May, 2013. It is a great location to visit the Canyon where we drove to the overlooks on both the South and North rims. We took the only unguided hike that you can take from the White House Overlook (South rim) one afternoon and that was the highlight of our visit. Semi-wild goats and young Navajos running up and down the trail. We took a morning jeep tour up the northern canyon - Canyon del Muerto as far as Antelope House. Although the Lodge no longer books the tours directly, they have a telephone list and were helpful in contacting a company once we had selected them.

Our room was as most other recent reviews have described them - large (two queens) and clean. We were in room 80 on the back row, possibly newer room? In the morning three or four people and I were walking around in the driveway trying to get web/phone access. They have a couple of secure LAN connections and provide a password, but the problem seems to be obvious, at least for the rooms on the back row. The antenna is too low on the tower on the bluff behind the rooms, so they are in the "shadow" and you have to go outside to get reception. In good weather, not a show-stopper.


The bathroom (bath and toilet separate from the double-sink dressing area) was so small that you couldn't close the door with the small bathmat on the floor. There was also a sign that said to keep the door closed at all times due to the noise. I think we were next to the utility room and there were running water noises at odd intervals.

As for the Lodge cafeteria, we only had one mediocre breakfast there. Other reviews pointed to the Junction Cafe at the Best Western in town. Good breakfasts and quite a variety of Mexican, Navajo and Asian specialties. Sounds odd, but everything tasty.

One afternoon we drove up to Monument Valley because we couldn't get reservations at the View Hotel there. It was about an hour and a half each way and was an easy and scenic drive. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We used this as a base to explore nearby Canyon de Chelly. Turned out to be a good choice: the rooms were comfortable and practical. We had dinner in the cafeteria and breakfast each morning on a terrace outside our room. It is not a super-exciting place, but it works, and frankly there might not any better choice in the Chinle area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Now called the Sacred Canyon Lodge, this is a good basic spot to use for a short stay near the fantastic Canyon de Chelly. Rooms are old fashioned but spacious and there is wi-fi (contrary to what Fodors will tell you) which is especially useful as neither of our phones could get service. Bed was soft. cafe on site, which we did not use, but it looked OK. I think that since the new owners took over they do not run their own tours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

AND, right at Canyon de Chelly - wouldn't stay anywhere else if I go back. Makes visiting the Canyon so easy - we took a very short drive up to a lookout on South Rim to watch the sunset after arriving.
Unpretentious place, quiet - car can be parked close to building - cafeteria a short walk away. Nice grounds if you want to wander to a chair or bench. Gift shop.
Well looked after property.

PS - Mojo Coffee, a block or two away, makes great coffee - expresso or otherwise! mmmm... early morning at a lookout with a Cafe Americano - life is good!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the best offering in Chinle. It is also a pleasant throw back to old time motels - the good kind. Very well kept, great help, and a nice cafeteria with Navajo theme that isn't overtly commercial. The grounds were nice and nicely kept. It is very close to Canyon de Tsegi. The rooms have beamed ceilings with fans (why don't more Southwest hotels have fans?) but they were hardly needed since the 1930s adobe kept the room very cool. This could be a four star offering except that there is a very spotty internet and cell phone service. And the rooms lack microwaves or refrigerators probably because they also lack enough electric outlets for the modern traveler. Very comfortable, can I say laid back.

Room Tip: Upgrades to larger rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Well...I am shocked to find that the Thunderbird Lodge of yesteryear is undergoing changes--I knew it was coming but don't have high expectations. If you ask me, The View/Monument Valley take-over is a very bad sign...in it's day the Thunderbird Lodge provided the best overall experience at Canyon de Chelly--especially the staff, gift shop, tours and the older, smaller rooms were charming. I loved the blue corn pancakes--very sad that things are changing...this place does not need a bulldozer--it was the best and still can be.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sacred Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacred Canyon Lodge

Address: Highway 191, Rural route 7, Chinle, AZ 86503
Location: United States > Arizona > Chinle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Chinle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sacred Canyon Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only accommodations inside Canyon de Chelly National Monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sacred Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Chinle
Thunderbird Lodge Grand Canyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sacred Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.