We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal at King's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Fish House

King's Fish House
825 Camino De La Reina, San Diego, CA 92108-3203 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)
619-574-1230
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #326 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent meal at King's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

King's is another restaurant that my family always has to experience when we get to San Diego. The fish is fresh and the service has always been excellent. Lots of different beers on draft, too. We enjoy the grilled fish; the fried Combo plate was disappointing this time.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    31
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish Selections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Kings has a great selection for the fish lover and all of their dishes are well prepared. I was there yesterday for lunch, but have also been there several times for dinner. They also offer sandwiches, including burgers, for non-fish lovers or for children.

It is a good lunch spot because it is centrally located in Mission Valley area of San Diego. There is also seldom a wait. Yesterday I had their seared ahi with sesame and it was excellent. Several times for dinner I have also had their wild salmon, which was the best salmon I have ever had. However they only offer this when it is is season. The other thing I really like about Kings is that if you are trying to diet, there are lots of very good low calorie selections. I have a great meal, but I don't have to feel guilty.

The atmosphere is nice, but yet also casual. There is either inside or outside dining. The service has always been excellent. We were there a few weeks ago with 3 other couples and each couple wanted separate checks. They were very accommodating about this.

I first discovered Kings about 6 months ago and since then it has become my favorite place for fish. Definitely recommend it for either lunch or dinner.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Been there 5 times this month, the staff and food are amazing. Would recommend to anyone...

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood in laid back environment near malls.. What more could a girl ask for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Excellent seafood! My recommendations: fish tacos, fried oysters, trout almondine

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This restaurant, part of a small (4 or 5 location) chain will appeal to fans of McCormick & Schmick who boggle at their high prices. That is not to say King's Seafood is cheap--it isn't--but it is more reasonably priced and the menu is almost as extensive. There is plentiful outside seating which, although it overlooks a shopping mall parking lot, still manages a somewhat rural feel. The food is fresh, there is a generous selection of wild-caught items and the service is efficient without being obtrusive. The wine and beverage list is more than adequate.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to King's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.