We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast back to basics” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky's Breakfast

Lucky's Breakfast
3804 Grim Ave, San Diego, CA (Formerly Golden Phenix)
(619) 297-2760
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,069 of 3,828 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
130 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Breakfast back to basics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a back to basics breakfast place with reasonable prices. Customer service is superb, a one-man show.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynnbrownstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I cannot even describe how awesome this place is.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was staying with friends in San Diego, and decided to try this place because it was within walking distance of their house. From the moment I walked in, I could tell we had made the right choice. It has Asian decor and a little old Asian man running the place. And he's amazing! He literally does everything from taking your order to cooking and serving it. The prices are incredibly cheap. It was only $20 for 4 of us to each order a breakfast plate plus hot cakes. And the food is great! The place is cash only, so bring cash, but you won't need a lot of it. And order something besides water as he pours it out of a water jug that looks like it's been refilled 20 times, possibly with old water from a bathtub. Oh, and my friend tried to order cheese on his hash browns and was told "No, I don't do that", which made us chuckle, especially after my other friend asked for cheese with his eggs and Lucky told him "okay". I seriously love this place. It has so much character and Lucky is awesome. I can't wait until I'm back in SD and can eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catwell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I cannot recommend the flapjack plate highly enough. I had it twice, wife had it once, friends wife had it twice. 2 eggs, 3 flapjacks and a meat choice. Very well cooked food. Great flapjacks! Gas Lamp district next door to Marriott Hotel.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarlFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Handy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Was in San Diego for business and needed a quick bite to eat and stumbled upon this place. It was spot on. Fast, good food and reasonable price.

Helpful?
Thank Candy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
348 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Neat little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The food was excellent, cooked to order and plentiful. For being in a tourist area, the prices are really reasonable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank m2swim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky's Breakfast also viewed

 

Been to Lucky's Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing