We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast back to basics” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky's Breakfast

Lucky's Breakfast
3804 Grim Ave, San Diego, CA (Formerly Golden Phenix)
(619) 297-2760
Improve this listing
Ranked #759 of 3,702 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
119 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Breakfast back to basics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a back to basics breakfast place with reasonable prices. Customer service is superb, a one-man show.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I cannot even describe how awesome this place is.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was staying with friends in San Diego, and decided to try this place because it was within walking distance of their house. From the moment I walked in, I could tell we had made the right choice. It has Asian decor and a little old Asian man running the place. And he's amazing! He literally does everything from taking your order to cooking and serving it. The prices are incredibly cheap. It was only $20 for 4 of us to each order a breakfast plate plus hot cakes. And the food is great! The place is cash only, so bring cash, but you won't need a lot of it. And order something besides water as he pours it out of a water jug that looks like it's been refilled 20 times, possibly with old water from a bathtub. Oh, and my friend tried to order cheese on his hash browns and was told "No, I don't do that", which made us chuckle, especially after my other friend asked for cheese with his eggs and Lucky told him "okay". I seriously love this place. It has so much character and Lucky is awesome. I can't wait until I'm back in SD and can eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I cannot recommend the flapjack plate highly enough. I had it twice, wife had it once, friends wife had it twice. 2 eggs, 3 flapjacks and a meat choice. Very well cooked food. Great flapjacks! Gas Lamp district next door to Marriott Hotel.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Handy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Was in San Diego for business and needed a quick bite to eat and stumbled upon this place. It was spot on. Fast, good food and reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
239 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Neat little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The food was excellent, cooked to order and plentiful. For being in a tourist area, the prices are really reasonable.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky's Breakfast also viewed

 

Been to Lucky's Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky's Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.