We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick, Cheap and a GOOD Selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yenchim Garden Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Yenchim Garden Restaurant
13297 Black Mountain Rd, San Diego, CA 92129-2658
858-484-7277
Improve this listing
Ranked #967 of 4,041 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California, USA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Quick, Cheap and a GOOD Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Chciken Lo Mein is excellent and AWESOME Value. Pre order and have have everything ready by the time you arrive.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    4
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent local find with authentic northern style chinese cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is one of the few restaurants in town where you can get authentic northern style chinese food. The green onion pancakes, pot stickers, and yang chow fried rice are awesome. To get the authentic stuff, you need to order from the chinese menu. There's a more american style menu and that food is good as well. It just depends on what you're in the mood for. The portion sizes are pretty large. Great value.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for familes since the 80s”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have been eating here since i was in high school and now I take my kids here. The food is consistent and the service is great. I am hoping my kids will be taking their kids here.

It's Chinese comfort food. Their pork fried rice is pork fried rice. Nothing special or crazy - just good old fashioned pork fried rich. Yum

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san marcos
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I eat here at least a few times a month”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

This place is great i love there lunch specials but there is a lot of times my g/f and i go here for dinner or even after work i might stop on by. Kung poa extra spicy please or the szechuan green beans are great as well. If you like noodles the Lo mein has great texture and flavor. Great place for diners that like chinese and want to save a dime for lunch. It is a mom and pop joint, but more times than not i would rather eat here than any other chinese place. Par is set.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great PQ resturant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

Great lunch special for about $5-$7 served with soup (egg drop or hot n sour), main dish, rice, & egg roll. They have been in PQ for over 20 years and it is good family style food at dinner. Yenchin beef or chicken is a great dish to share or have for a lunch special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yenchim Garden Restaurant also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego

Been to Yenchim Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yenchim Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.