We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far, so good.....!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Woo BBQ Restaurant

Sam Woo BBQ Restaurant
7330 Clairemont Mesa Blvd Ste 103, San Diego, CA 92111
(858) 505-9888
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,768 of 4,057 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So far, so good.....!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My better half and I have only been thru the take-out portion side of the restaurant. And let me tell you that if this is just a glimpse of what the sit-down side is, then she & I will have to definitely try that other side. Although the portions are very ample on the take-out, we need to taste and compare what we have been missing all this time. Then my review of Sam Woo's BBQ Restaurant will be complete...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    5
    5
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Consistent throughout the years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Been visiting Sam Woo since 1997 and my most recent one was in Dec 2012. The place is always packed with people. The place is ordinary Chinese restaurant with just so so service, but the food always taste yummy. Love the BBQ (of course its their specialties), pork chops & salt pepper squid. Portions are huge.
Will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Best comfort food for a Chinese guy in San Diego”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Glad to see that many folks who'd probably end up going to PF Chang's finding this place. Sam Woo has been a staple of the LA area since the immigration of Chinese during the 80s. This is one restaurant that is still in business, and definitely the food is still consistently good, even if this is far away from the Chinese enclaves of LA.

I came here with a friend who lives in an area without good Chinese food (Ventura). Had the sweet and sour soup, "dau miu" and seafood chow mein, and for some reason, I was in awe. While I wish SW would get with the times and take credit cards (many of the other Chinese businesses do take CCs hello), the food is the redemption.

Avoid places like China Max on Convoy and come here (strange how that restaurant is there, and there are many non-Asians eating there). San Diego is lucky to have SW and 99 Market in one place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My favorite Chinese food at low prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've been to most Chinese restaurants in the area and Sam Woo is the best for good quality at low prices. Service is quick and there are many choices. Have been coming here for 15 years.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Doesn't take credit cards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Food was good and portions were plentiful. If you are looking for atmosphere this is not the place. Chow mein was excellent as was the honey walnut shrimp. Highlite was the duck. Service was so-so, but nothing to fret about. No beer - bummer!!! There were five of us and we ordered liberally from the extensive menu. Bill was about $100 with tip.
Menu said "No credit cards" - fortunately I had a lot of cash. Also, there was an ATM nearby.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Woo BBQ Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sam Woo BBQ Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Woo BBQ Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.