We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newbreak Coffee & Cafe

Newbreak Coffee & Cafe
1959 Abbott St, San Diego, CA 92107
6192246666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #399 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: American, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We went there twice for breakfast while visiting Ocean Beach. Both times, I had the breakfast burrito which was just plain yummy! They served organic French coffee which was rich and bold. I didn't try any of them, but the display case had beautiful looking scones, muffins and other breakfast breads. The service was friendly and the atmosphere was lively and both kid and computer friendly. I will definitely eat there again when I'm in town.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newb_10, Owner at Newbreak Coffee & Cafe, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for visiting us when you were in town! I'm so glad you enjoyed our breakfast burrito & coffee! We have amazing sandwiches and wraps for lunch so when you're back in town you'll have to come for breakfast and stay for lunch! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quanit Little Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stumbled upon this cute cafe one morning so stopped in for breakfast. I had the breakfast burrito and fresh squeezed oj. My friend had the bagel. It was a nice change from your typical greasy spoon restaurant. We ended up getting a muffin to go for snacking on later. Again, your typical huge portions but reasonably priced.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newb_10, Owner at Newbreak Coffee & Cafe, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for stopping by when you were in town; I'm so glad you found us! We agree--huge portions at a reasonable price and a wide selection of food make our cafe much better than a greasy spoon diner. Hope you stop in next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011 via mobile

I've gone here a few times but recently I went for breakfast with a friend. The capichinos are one of the best in the area and I love the Lox "supreme" bagels.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newb_10, Owner at Newbreak Coffee & Cafe, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for your repeat business; we appreciate our loyal customers! I'm glad you enjoyed our cappuccinos and supreme lox bagel! Hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Excellent coffees and smoothies right by the beach, and free wi-fi! I so want to just go sit here and work with my...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

Excellent coffees and smoothies right by the beach, and free wi-fi! I so want to just go sit here and work with my laptop and ipod! :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newbreak Coffee & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Newbreak Coffee & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newbreak Coffee & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.