We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner to go” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bravo's Mexican Bistro/Cantena

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bravo's Mexican Bistro/Cantena
5001 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107 (Ocean Beach)
(619) 222-6633
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,312 of 3,682 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Mexican
Neighborhood: Ocean Beach
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Ocean Beach
Bermuda Dunes, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dinner to go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Very greasy quesadilla's, right price I guess. I think we should have gone to restaurant instead of "take home"

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Desert Hot Springs, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best food in a bucket anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

For under $40.00 for two you can get a bucket of shrimp, chicken, and carne asada (steak). It is all done perfectly, and our favorite San Diego restaurant. It is located in Ocean Beach.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Hands down the best fish tacos I've had that were deep fried. We stopped in because we walked in and it was a special Tuesday happy hour with $2 fish tacos & $2 draft beer. The beer was Pacifico and the fish tacos were huge not skimpy for happy hour. Go there!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/ Dublin
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good alternative to south beach and great salsa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

After surfing we intended to go to South Beach but there was a wait so we went here instead. Good deals on Margs and really nice salsa to go with some nice fish tacos.
Service was great and it was one of my better after surf fish taco experiences. I'll return!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place of all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Love Bravo's buckets of shrimp and lobster. The food is out of this world.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bravo's Mexican Bistro/Cantena also viewed

 

Been to Bravo's Mexican Bistro/Cantena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bravo's Mexican Bistro/Cantena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.