We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chocolate everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eclipse Chocolat

Eclipse Chocolat
2145 Fern St, San Diego, CA 92104, San Diego, CA 92104-1101
619-578-2984
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Café, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great chocolate everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place makes great chocolate! As an added bonus, the chocolate-infused food is enjoyable. The service is friendly, with a cool ambiance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Poway, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Reliably good and unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The owner and his staff are passionate about their chocolate, and from that stems their passion and enthusiasm to make chocolate more than just candy, but the center of a truly unique and quality-focused eating and drinking experience. I urge you to read their blog page, to see just how much variety and creativity Eclipse applies to both savory and sweet foods. Even if you're not into chocolate, there's something for you here. The brunches and dinners have hints of chocolate in most dishes, but it's never overbearing or out of balance, and in many cases, is so subtle as to be almost imperceptible. But for the chocolate lover, I will tell you honestly that since finding Eclipse, I've tried very hard to find better chocolate anywhere in the country at any price... I'm still looking.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“New location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Eclipse has moved to a new location in South Park (2145 Fern Street, San Diego, CA 92104). Both the cafe and the store have been expanded over what they had previously. The menu continues to offer multiple variations on chocolate (even a French onion soup with chocolate infused croutons). The truffles are pricey but made with care and bursting with flavor. During Happy Hour you can purchase any drink and receive a complimentary truffle. Service is swift and cheery. Worth a visit

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lacking in customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Food was amazing though overpriced. A $12 cheese plate with a dab of this and that??? We were rushed along as they have 3 services for their special once a month dinners. It is very obvious from the get go that they want you in and OUT as quickly as possible. Servers looked disheveled, were confused about orders. The owner insisted that we order immediately though we said we preferred to enjoy our drinks prior to ordering (starters arrived before the drinks).
Won't return, although that was the best butternut squash soup I've ever tasted!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This location has moved to South Park in San Diego and is no longer on El Cajon. It is wonderful. The new location is bigger and has more seating. It's located in a fun section of South Park , although parking can be challenging. They still have delicious chocolate combinations. I have not dined there for Brunch, but the menu looks amazing. I have had a few of their unique chocolate bars, truffles and pastries. You must visit this place and be prepared to be wow-ed!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eclipse Chocolat also viewed

 

Been to Eclipse Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eclipse Chocolat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.