We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New twist on the Surf Taco Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wahoo's Fish Taco

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wahoo's Fish Taco
3944 W Point Loma Blvd, Ste A, San Diego, CA 92110-5642 (Point Loma)
619-222-0020
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,597 of 4,160 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Californian, Cajun & Creole, Asian
Neighborhood: Point Loma
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Point Loma
San Diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“New twist on the Surf Taco Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Sort of a rip off of the Rubio's theme--but different enough menu to justify a visit. Shrimp dishes are great.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“When we visit San Diego we always stop here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

When we visit San Diego from Ohio we always stop at Wahoo's, usually at the Point Loma location. I love the grilled cajan fish platter. Where else can you get this type of fish taco's? It comes with beans and brown rice. There is a surfer ambiance that complements the food; very coastal California.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good for a cheap and fast meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

It's not expensive and the quality is good for what you get. Their salsa is pretty flavourful. The only thing I didn't like was my rice and beans arrived lukewarm/cold but that was easily remedied by the server putting it in the microwave for a minute.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Okay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

Okay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Great little shop, loved the casual vibe. I ordered the 2 carne asada tacos platter (black beans and rice) and my husband ordered the 2 charbroiled fish taco platter. We each got a beer. He got a Corona and I tried a local beer called Woody. The check out girl even offered to let me try it after I asked her how did it taste! Great customer service. I tasted it and ordered one. Great sipping beer on a hot day. We sat outside to enjoy the breeze and sunshine. Loved seeing how dog owners just walked right in with their dogs. SD is a dog friendly city. The food came out fast and the portions were huge! I couldn't even finish it. The tacos were fresh tasting and perfect. Oh, and did I mention we paid under $20 for everything? Loved it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahoo's Fish Taco also viewed

 

Been to Wahoo's Fish Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wahoo's Fish Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.