We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big menu with lots of choices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akai Hana

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Akai Hana
16769 Bernardo Center Dr Ste K11, San Diego, CA 92128
(858) 451-0074
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,276 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Big menu with lots of choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The location of this restaurant in a mall doesn't scream good food but Akai Hana is a solid Japanese restaurant with a large selection of sushi, sashimi, and well-prepared entres such as tempura and teiryaki salmon and chicken. I would have preferred my sashimi to be sliced a bit thinner but it tasted fresh. The service was excellent, especially with our large group of 33, all ordering individual dinners and drinks with separate checks. Might be the first Japanese restaurant we've been to with draft Japanese beer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Decent Japanese good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This used to be called Shien of Osaka and you can see that name as subtitle on they sign still.com do check out this reviews too. They have good sushi and cooked food. It odd probably the most established Japanese restaurant in the area and you will not get much beer unless you go to convoy area

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Akai Hana is located in the Rancho Bernardo Plaza. The restaurant is fairly large and not fancy. There is seating at two bars for sushi. We arrived early, around 5:30 on a Saturday night, and the restaurant was already busy. We started with a small bottle of sake while we looked over the menu. There is a wide selection with lots of sushi, sashimi and tempura. We went for the tempura, shrimp and vegetables, and a teriyaki steak on the side. The food was terrific as was the service. When we left around 6:45, the waiting area was packed. Get there early or make a reservation.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will go back just for sushi.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Recently moved to this area and was excited to see a Japanese restaurant close by. The reviews looked good so we gave it a shot. Our first impression was that the interior seemed run down. We were seated in an awkward back room and waited for a bit to be taken care of. Food was good, but not good enough to make you forget the atmosphere. The sushi was by far the best part, even though it was just slightly above average. We will probably go back again, but will probably go straight to the sushi bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Best sushi ever eaten outside Japan. Great ambiance, real sushi bar, if you arr around Rancho Bernardo, take the time to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akai Hana also viewed

 

Been to Akai Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akai Hana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.