We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite restaurants in San Diego!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turf Supper Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Turf Supper Club
1116 25th St., San Diego, CA 92102
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #701 of 4,099 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants in San Diego!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Every time I go back to San Diego, I have to go the Turf Club!! The food is excellent, the drinks are so good, and the price is just right... oh ya, and the atmosphere is too fun... you get to grill your food! LOVE IT!! If you're staying downtown, just take a cab, it's about a mile east on 25th St.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Always a hit, never a miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I frequent this place about once every 2 weeks. It don't know what it is, but it's addicting! It's 21 and up, so be sure to have your ID ready, and it gets really busy after 10 or so. If you go earlier it's pretty quiet. The outside looks shady, but don't let it scare you away! The interior is a bit odd, but fun. Oh, and there's no windows.
The drinks are very generous, and cheap. They have some specialty ones, I tried a freaky teaky (or something like that), and it was very fruity/girly, but me and the other ladies loved it! We always order a steak that's off the menu, the Flank Steak. They marinate it in a wonderful sauce for who knows how long, so it's super juicy. I usually order a side-salad with bleu cheese as well, and the dressing it very nice.
The food comes out fast because of course, you have to cook it yourself. All dishes come with garlic bread as well. I always take the garlic bread and cover it with the extra sauce left over in the tin-foil from the steak (bad, I know!). If you cook your steak right, it's going to be good, guaranteed!
It does take some time to get your check, but the servers are all very nice. As an odd rule, once your table has ordered, nobody else can join your table, so be aware of that.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you are cool, go here, if you are a dork, stay away please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Grill your own steaks, burgers or portobello with some garlic bread, add a pre packaged salad and a killer martini. This place is the bomb. By far the best juke box in the city. This place is not for snobs, you could be grilling next to Etta James one night, next night someone who slept under a bridge the next.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great to be different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

This was a great experience, like being "outside" but in, you chose what you wanted from the menu and cooked it on an inside BBQ a very social occasion. Nice to find somewhere a little different.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fun retro night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

This place was an old (1940's or 50's?) Supper club and it hasn't changed a bit.

Simple steak menu, with a few vegitarian options. You cook your own steak on the big grill. Nice bar selectionThe daytime bartender is a smart cookie and a lovely lady. Best iced tea in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turf Supper Club also viewed

 

Been to Turf Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turf Supper Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.