We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Vegan!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho's Mexican Restaurant (North Park)

Rancho's Mexican Restaurant (North Park)
3910 30th Street, San Diego, CA 92104
(619) 574-1288
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,080 of 4,065 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Wrightwood, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy Vegan!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I were hanging out in San Diego and went to Rancho's on the recommendation of a friend. I'm vegetarian, and although my husband is not, he loves good vegetarian and vegan food as well. They have a huge menu, that ranges from salads to burritos. My husband got a vegetarian carne asada burrito, that honestly frightened me with how much it tasted like real meat. I got the vegan enchilada trio, which was interesting and delicious. I would definitely recommend it to those looking for something different and tasty!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Healthy-ish eats on the go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

So I love to indulge in great food. No secret there. My wife likes to keep my waistline in check. The compromise is that we eat here from time to time. Deal. The food tastes good and happens to be on the healthy side. Chicken burrito with black beans and brown rice on a whole wheat tortilla made fresh, check. Freshly made all fruit smoothie with no added sugar and you pick the fruit as its made right in front of you, check. Easy on the wallet, check. Happy wife, check. This place also has vegan options too. I like it for all the mentioned reasons, add to that the lack of a hippy vibe and we are good to go.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good place for different palates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Fresh ingredients and variety seem to be the key to Rancho's. What's great about this place is if you have a group trying to go out to lunch/dinner w/ very mixed palates, there are so many choices: poultry, meat, fish, lobster, vegetarian, vegan, bland, and spicy. And the price tag doesn't sting at the end of a meal, either. The tables can feel a little small, but somehow all the food and drinks seem to fit. The margaritas are okay - not bad, but just okay. Service was friendly and attentive. The place is also decorated with an eclectic style in an un-overwhelming way. I was happy to get a seat by the Frida Kahlo section.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food in a pleasant environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

You'll feel like you're eating at a families own home with the superb wait service, high quality food, reasonable prices and awesome salsa. Come early if it's on the weekends because the lines can be very long as most people know it's so good.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Authentic Mexican with healthy and delicious options.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This is one of my favorite places to eat in San Diego. It feels like you have been transported 30 minutes south to Mexico when you walk in. The workers are friendly and wonderful, but sometimes can be a little slow. The food is amazing and most of the dishes can be made into vegetarian or vegan options. It is amazing what they do and I recommend it to everyone who comes to visit. Plus, you just cannot beat the price.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho's Mexican Restaurant (North Park) also viewed

 

Been to Rancho's Mexican Restaurant (North Park)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho's Mexican Restaurant (North Park), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.