We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy-ish eats on the go” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho's Mexican Restaurant (North Park)

Rancho's Mexican Restaurant (North Park)
3910 30th Street, San Diego, CA 92104
(619) 574-1288
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1,265 of 3,977 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
San Diego
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Healthy-ish eats on the go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

So I love to indulge in great food. No secret there. My wife likes to keep my waistline in check. The compromise is that we eat here from time to time. Deal. The food tastes good and happens to be on the healthy side. Chicken burrito with black beans and brown rice on a whole wheat tortilla made fresh, check. Freshly made all fruit smoothie with no added sugar and you pick the fruit as its made right in front of you, check. Easy on the wallet, check. Happy wife, check. This place also has vegan options too. I like it for all the mentioned reasons, add to that the lack of a hippy vibe and we are good to go.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    6
    7
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good place for different palates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Fresh ingredients and variety seem to be the key to Rancho's. What's great about this place is if you have a group trying to go out to lunch/dinner w/ very mixed palates, there are so many choices: poultry, meat, fish, lobster, vegetarian, vegan, bland, and spicy. And the price tag doesn't sting at the end of a meal, either. The tables can feel a little small, but somehow all the food and drinks seem to fit. The margaritas are okay - not bad, but just okay. Service was friendly and attentive. The place is also decorated with an eclectic style in an un-overwhelming way. I was happy to get a seat by the Frida Kahlo section.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food in a pleasant environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

You'll feel like you're eating at a families own home with the superb wait service, high quality food, reasonable prices and awesome salsa. Come early if it's on the weekends because the lines can be very long as most people know it's so good.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Authentic Mexican with healthy and delicious options.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This is one of my favorite places to eat in San Diego. It feels like you have been transported 30 minutes south to Mexico when you walk in. The workers are friendly and wonderful, but sometimes can be a little slow. The food is amazing and most of the dishes can be made into vegetarian or vegan options. It is amazing what they do and I recommend it to everyone who comes to visit. Plus, you just cannot beat the price.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good food; service is not that great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Great menu, and definitely different than your normal mexican cuisine. Alot of vegetarian options; try the portobello burrito. The service isn't that great, but I would go again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho's Mexican Restaurant (North Park) also viewed

 

Been to Rancho's Mexican Restaurant (North Park)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho's Mexican Restaurant (North Park), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.