We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great calamari!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Seafood

Blue Water Seafood
3667 India St, San Diego, CA 92103-4749
619-497-0914
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 4,039 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Berwick, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great calamari!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had the calamari, shrimp tacos and scallop tacos. Everything was very fresh and tasted great, but the calamari stood out as our favorite. The portions were very generous to the point we couldn't finish everything. There was a line, but it moved quickly. Definitely worth trying this place when in San Diego.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    220
    90
    32
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best fish tacos and calimari!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Great little place. The fish tacos and calamari were super fresh and tasty. The staff was very nice. Ballast point beers on tap was icing on the cake.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Brian and Pam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

The food was absolutely divine. We had large, fresh, butterflied fried shrimp with breading so light as to be almost undetectable. The cheesy bread is exquisite with unique fresh herbs. Generous portions. Reasonably priced. Not so much ambience. Get there before 6:30 to avoid lengthy wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Williamsburg, VA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos - Hands Down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

On a recent business trip, my travel partner and I tried this place out of the blue...no pun intended. I could live here!

Blue Water Seafood pays attention to the most important thing...quality of food. The fish on display had me reeling with excitement as I stood in line to place my order. There is nothing frilly about this place, it is the real deal, a fish market that serves the best fish I have ever had. I ordered two tacos, Mahi Mahi and Red Snapper...over 4 oz of fish on each taco...smothered with cabbage and their sauce it was such a delight to sit and eat on the cozy outdoor 'porch'.

They serve Ballast Point beer and have a pretty good selection of wine for a small fish market.

The service was top notch albeit down to earth...they just cared and I could tell they were proud to work there...they should be, it is awesome! You definitely have to try this place out, you will not be let down. Trust me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Unusual Place - Good Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was in San Diego with a friend. We had checked Diners, Drive-ins and Dives (TV Program) and saw a review for this restaurant.

It is unusual because you stand in line at a counter to place your order from a list of 5 or 6 seafood items that they will grill with the marinade of your choice. There is a small list of side dishes you can order . . . . ala carte . . . . plus different sodas, wines and beers. After placing your order, you take drinks to a table and wait for the food to be delivered to you.

We had 2 sodas, a bowl of clam chowder, one scallop plate and one red snapper plate. The clam chowder was the best that I have ever eaten . . . . . no doubt about it. The platters were quite large and the food was very good. If were ever return, we will probably each get a bowl of clam chowder and split a platter. The onion rings at the next table looked like something to die for so we would probably have a side of rings too. Our check was $50.49 before tip.

Parking is on the street but we found a spot in less than 5 minutes. The place was almost full when we left around 8:00 pm and there was a short line. They did a lot of takeout with locals calling their order in . . . . . . They have a strict policy of not allowing anyone with a phone in order to take a table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Blue Water Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.