We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, Small Beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5995 Pacific Mesa Court, San Diego, CA 92121   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #42 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Encinitas, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, Small Beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed on a Sunday night and checked in at noon. They were very accommodating and put our two rooms right next to each other and upgraded us. Rooms are newly decorated and fresh. Kitchens have everything you need and we had fun preparing our dinner there. The bedroom had a queen, but sure felt smaller than that. The beds were the most comfortable I have felt in a while. Everything was clean and sparkling! I would definitely recommend this hotel. Pool is small and breakfast is Ok, (not as good as Country inn). But overall, I would rather stay here than Country Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit B, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Joyfull1131,

Thank you for taking time to review us and for the kind words regarding your experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed the renovated rooms and the new kitchen appliances.

I look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    28
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
3
4
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Marriott hotels always provide the best service. Today I would like to mention that I was extremely impressed by the great service by Mr. Jaw ad during my stay at this hotel. There was no additional help available to him on May 6, 2014. Mr. Jawad took exceptional care of the guests and the kitchen. He went to the guests and specially asked them if they needed anything else. He had no help but cared for the guests at this hotel. This type of service is rare in today's day and age. He definitely deserves recognition for his outstanding and caring service.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit B, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience. I really appreciate hearing your comments regarding Jawad. He truly is our jewel and regularly recognize him for his efforts.

I look forward to hosting you on your next visit to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

It was my first stay at a Residence Inn but will not be my last. My brother and his family always stays at a Residence Inn . I did a lot of traveling when I was working but was always booked to the company T/L holtels . I enjoyed the cleanless of the room and all the employees went out of there way to help out .
The person how took care of my room ( Nancy ) did a great job, everything was neat and clean.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
Green Features: Nice to see that some companies are looking out and helping the enviroment !
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

we stayed on April 11- 13th
I highly recommend this place.
my fiance and i stayed here for 2 nights. what a great stay.
things are worth mentioning
staff was excellent. from manager to the regular staff members.
i called ahead to see if we could check in early, they already recognized who i was because i called once to confirm the reservation day before. they were so nice, and said no problem checking in was effortless. ( as it should be)
we missed the breakfast only because the bed and the pillows were so comfy we couldn't get out of the bed.
our suit was spotless. clean to the dot.( cleanliness is very important factor A+)
shower is great
we needed extra towels, they brought it in a hurry.
only thing i would like is room service. i was disappointed when they didn't have any
but there were places near by we could get stuff.
I kindly suggest they would consider having room service. i love late night snacks.
I would definitely stay here again.
EXCELLENT STAY!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasha M, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Pra P,

Thank you so much for writing such a nice and detailed review for us on Trip Advisor!

It warms my heart knowing that you received the level of service we strive for.

Congratulations as well on your upcoming nuptials and hopefully you two are able to come stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay at a Residence Inn even though I am Marriott rewards member and I thoroughly enjoyed the amenities offered. The room was clean and well maintained. The decor was very nice. The bed/pillows were comfortable. The daily breakfast buffet style was good and included in the cost. The staff was friendly and professional, especially the young lady who checked me. It was about a 10 mins or less to UCSD, which was my reason for being in San Diego. The hotel had a pool and a fitness room as well as basketball hoops. There may have been other activities on the grounds available that I didn't see. There was a weekday social hour with food but I didn't get to go. I accidentally found the location is about 10 minutes from the Mission Beach area. Were I traveling on business or with the family to the San Diego area, I'd stay here again. The best part is the price was right for the full kitchen, dishes, etc and included breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasha M, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
DearJustVisiting958,

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting San Diego.

Hopefully you are able to come back again soon and soak up some sunshine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This property is a hidden gem in Sorrento Mesa, perfect for families or business travelers. The rooms are spacious with a full kitchen, and there's a great breakfast with plenty of room to sit. Best of all -- at least according to our kids -- there is a SportCourt and ping-pong table that are both in great condition.

At first glance, it might seem like the location is too far from the beaches and attractions like SeaWorld and the Zoo, but it's actually very close to the freeway and you can get everywhere in 20 minutes or so (assuming you time it right, of course, and miss the major traffic).

The service was outstanding from the moment we arrived, and the free WiFi was fast and dependable, which is a huge plus. There's plenty of free parking, and you can literally walk 5 minutes to a nearby Chili's. This was our first stay at this property, and we'll definitely keep it in mind for the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasha M, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear 56waldorf,

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing us such a nice review.

We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to when you can come see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The staff is very nice and very helpful. Especially Daniel at the front desk. The room is great and pretty roomy. Free breakfast, wifi, and parking is a plus. The location was okay. The hotel was fairly close to restaurants such as Chilli's. It was hard to reach downtown San Diego because of normal traffic.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasha M, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Bien,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review on Trip Advisor. We truly apperciate you're helpful comments to for other travlers to see.

We hope you are able to come see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley

Address: 5995 Pacific Mesa Court, San Diego, CA 92121
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn
Residence Inn Sorrento Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.