We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel for travellers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5995 Pacific Mesa Court, San Diego, CA 92121   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #48 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average hotel for travellers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

i stayed here for sometime in months of jan .. and i find the hotel is average.
the rooms are spacious for single person/ a couple.
it provides full kitchen.
and the bed could be better.
I find bath tub very small.
Staff is generally very pleasing and they did receive well.
I would 3/5. For the same money we could get better stays around.

Room Tip: Take room in first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit B, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for responding regarding your visit with us in January. Much has changed with the hotel since your last visit with us and I am excited to let you know we have addressed several of your notes.

In September of 2013 we began a complete renovation of the hotel from the guest suites to the lobby area. All of our large guest suites now come with brand new stainless steel appliances with full size refrigerators and upgraded stainless steel microwaves above the stove. We have also upgraded all of our mattresses with wonderfully comfortable pillow top bedding and upgraded our pillows to queen size.

Our lobby area has been completely redesigned with 2 private booth/study areas complete with their own 37" televisions. Our food options have many varieties to accommodate our international guests with kimchi, paratha bread, Dokhla, rice and vegetarian options at breakfast and our complimentary social hour.

I hope you will come visit us again soon and experience the new look and feel.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    28
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
3
5
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

As many other reviewers I'd like to state here that to Staff is great... The room has space enough for families and it is well equipped. Good breakfast and "social hours" from Monday to Thursday.
However, the carpets in the room and isles as also the air conditioning system seems to be too old providing a bad smelling thru the property... After 3 days keeping the windows of the room opened, the room got a better smell.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasha M, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
ReginaldoQC,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. I will be sure to pass along your review of our staff. We take a lot of pride in making every guest feel welcome and like they are part of our family here.

In response to your concerns about our needed renovation, I am happy to announce that we will be breaking ground on September 3rd to kick off our full 2013 renovation. This Winter Residence Inn Sorrento Mesa will be a brand new hotel. Our Renovation will include a remodel of the gatehouse area to include family style booths with private TV screens and a community high-rise table that will also serve as a docking station for your electronics to charge up while you enjoy a meal. The lobby market will be pushed back and opened up into a full market cubby where we will be able to offer more variety and easier viewing and selection process for our guests. Our guest rooms will be redecorated to match the new brand standard of Residence Inn and fresh carpet will be laid out in our rooms, elevators and hallways. The new air conditioning units were installed last week.

We are all very excited about the upcoming changes and we do hope that that if you are in San Diego again, you choose Residence Inn Sorrento Mesa as your home away from home.

Residence Inn Sorrento Mesa
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had to move to a local hotel for a week due to work being done on our house. We stayed in a two bedroom suite that was roomy, clean and comfortable. The highlights were 3 large screen TV's, a fireplace, a small living room and complete kitchen area. The staff were very pleasant and helpful; from check-in, to the person providing the free meals (breakfast and heavy finger foods with wine and beer in the evenings). The pool and hot spa were very clean and a nice way to relax at the end of a work day. Minor criticisms are that the ktchen and bathroom cabinets were dated and the coffee pot was of cheap construction, however, the hotel did provide free quality coffee all day in the food area. If you are a beer lover, the Green Flash brewry is within reasonable walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room (away from the traffic).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasha M, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear LeeHiker,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

As for your few concerns, I am happy to say that we are going through a complete renovation. Those dated guest suite cabinets have been refreshed and are now paired nicely with stainless steel appliances and granite countertops.

If you find yourself back in this area of San Diego some afternoon, please stop by to check out our renovation. Any one of our front desk associates would be happy to give you a tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here with family for a few days. The room was a little bit smaller than some RI hotels I've been too, but still a suite. The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast added some white rice/dried seaweed options to the typical RI breakfast. The amenities looked well kept, although we didn't use much of it. The location was close to La Jolla which is nice, but a good 20 minutes from downtown. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasha M, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
RussRexRay,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor.
We have continued to add more options to our breakfast buffet and social hour since your last visit. We have now started to include, Kimchi, Miso soup, authentic Korean style rice spices and Indian dhokla along with the white rice and seaweed.

In September of this year we will undergo a full renovation that will include both makeovers for the Guest rooms and the gate house/lobby area. After our renovation is complete this winter, our gate house will include private family booths with built in TVs as well as a community table offering electrical outlets as a charging station while you enjoy your meal.
I hope that you come and visit us again if you are ever in the San Diego area.

Thank you again and have a wonderful summer
Residence Inn Sorrento Mesa
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I redeemed a free night that I had earned through Marriott Rewards at this hotel, so keep in mind that I didn't pay a dime to stay here.
I was very pleased with the room. It did feel slightly dated, but it was large, clean, and comfortable. The person working the front desk was extremely friendly, as I would expect for a Marriott. The free breakfast was fantastic! Couldn't have been happier there.
I have always enjoyed staying at various Marriott brand hotels, and this hotel was no exception.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasha M, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Travis,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a glowing review on Trip Advisor. Even though your travel with us was last summer we still appreciate your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you come back to see us again soon.

We will be entering a renovation this September and by the start of 2014, we will have a brand new hotel to offer our guests.

Thank you again and happy summer,
Residence Inn Sorrento Mesa
Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

When I arrived to the hotel the room Was not available although I booked it by Venere. The problem Was not with Venere but with the hotel. Other people had the same problem. I don't recommend to book it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasha M, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Favaro,

I apologize your room was not ready at the time of your arrival. May I ask what time of day you tried checking-in?

Our guaranteed check –in time is 4pm. All early requested check –ins are requests that we try our very best to accommodate however, with our check out time being noon, we cannot always guarantee that an early check-in will be accommodated. Due to the length of stay most our guests are with us, each room is carefully treated after their departure before the next guest arrives. This ensures the upmost cleanliness of our rooms, though takes a little extra time then a more transient hotel.

If trying to check in before the 4pm guarantee, I do recommend giving us a call ahead of time to see if we are able to accommodate an earlier arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

ALL of the towels provided were paper thin and an off white, like what you'd get at an old gym to use. The bed sheets were thin as well, like an undershirt 15 years old or that they've been on the bed for a few days prior to our arrival. Halfway through our stay, I mentioned this to the staff but still received the same level of quality with the towels (the sheets were slightly better). If it were one or the other, I may not have even written this review, but the fact that it was both and they're the 2 personal items a hotel can provide that, in my opinion, can really make or break a stay so I had to write this!

I'd give it a really bad rating, but the other things that make Residence Inn the experience I've learned to enjoy were spot on: Nice breakfast with good variety throughout our week long stay, wonderful and cheerful staff, clean and modern amenities, and of course free parking and WiFi.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasha M, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Dpastorin,

I am so sorry you had a less then exceptional stay with us last year.
Since your visit, among other major changes, we have replaced all of our guest room towels and bedding with a new brand.

Hopefully if you find yourself back in the San Diego area, you will come by and allow us another chance to make your stay a comfortable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley

Address: 5995 Pacific Mesa Court, San Diego, CA 92121
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn
Residence Inn Sorrento Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.