We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for the Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar to your Saves list
Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9880 Mira Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92131 (Formerly Quality Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #205 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Las Vegas, Nevada - USA
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
477 helpful votes 477 helpful votes
“Good Value for the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The following is a very detailed review of our stay at the Comfort Suites. We were assigned Room #307 of this four story hotel for two nights. We got a great rate for this hotel through Hotwire, as hotels in San Diego were very expensive this time of year, and surprisingly, more costly than Los Angeles hotels. The hotel appears to have been built in the early to mid 1990s and it is next door to a Holiday Inn Express.

In the same center as the Comfort Suites is a Pizza Hut, a Shozen Korean Restaurant, Ariana Kebob Restaurant (Afghan Restaurant) and Denny’s. Across the busy street (5 lane street) which is also a hill, is a Trader Joe’s restaurant and other places.

INTERNET – The internet is very easy to access and we experienced no difficulties whatsoever in accessing wireless service.

LAUNDRY FACILITY – There is no laundry in the Comfort Suites, however, there appears to be a reciprocity arrangement with the Holiday Inn Express, so we did our laundry there. It costs $1.50 for washer and $1.25 for dryer (60 minutes). The hotel key from Comfort Suites worked on the side door of the downstairs laundry room at Holiday Inn Express.

FITNESS CENTER - Across from the pool is a room that houses typical fitness center equipment such an elliptical machine, stationary bicycle, treadmill, and universal gym. There are towels and water available for guests.

BREAKFAST – I have stayed at many hotels that offer breakfast with their rooms and this one is one of the worst. There were a lot of gnats in the coffee area. The cranberry juice was so watered down it tasted like fruit punch and not at all like cranberry juice. The orange juice and the apple juice taste terrible, too. The area where the waffle machine is had used and abandoned batter cups just left there (lazy people did not step over to the trash can to throw used items away). Otherwise, there was bacon and sausage, eggs, hard boiled eggs, two types of yogurt, dry cereal, packet oatmeal, hot water for black tea and hot chocolate, a variety of bread for toasting, and whole fruit (apples, bananas and oranges).

PARKING –The Comfort Suites shares a lot with the Holiday Inn Express, however, there is a front lot and a back lot – the front lot gets full because many don’t know there is a back lot behind the two hotels.

The hotel room is not new, but I felt it was well maintained. The air conditioning is very cold. The desk area along with a TV, refrigerator, microwave, bar sink, pullout soft, and chair, coffee table and end table are in the “living room” portion of the suite.

In the middle of the suite is the bathroom area. The sink is on the outside and then there is a door to the tub/shower and toilet. The bathroom is dark if the timer connected light and exhaust fan are not in use. The last area is the bedroom area which includes a TV and bureau with closet and bed.

I believe that this hotel is an excellent value for the price. There is no fee for parking, and hotel is at the I-15 Freeway entrance. The business center is located near the elevator, and there are two computers and one printer for guests to use.

I would probably not return here as I like to stay at newer, independent boutique hotels. However, for the price of the hotel, it is a good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    47
    30
    13
    11
See reviews for
57
35
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very good hotel. Clean, comfortable. Not terribly close to Sea World or San Diego zoo, but this hotel has all suites with a living room and bedroom area, and the price was so reasonable. It is an older hotel, but very well maintained with a nice pool area. The restaurant next door was a Dennys, which I don't like, but there were a lot of other restaurants within walking distance. There is a great Italian restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The location was perfect, right of I-15 very close to supermarkets and restaurants with easy access to all San Diego attractions. The staff were all very nice, pool was heated, and there was a pretty good variety for breakfast was what you might expect for a hotel including eggs and a meat each day. The rooms were clean and pretty spacious and it was nice to have a fridge and microwave. There was even a laundry facility in the hotel next door that guests of Comfort Suites are able to use. The bed was a little too soft for my liking but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and have no complaints. I agree that the bathroom needed updating, but it was still acceptable. On check-in, I accidentally left my travel papers, including passports, at the front desk and an employee ran to return them to me. The service was very good. Breakfast was standard, but good and plentiful. There were no parking issues for us. The pool was clean and enjoyable. We stayed here with our children and the room was very accommodating. We heard a toliet running in the room above us and as soon as my husband reported it to the desk staff, it was taken care of and we never heard it again. It was an easy drive from the hotel to all attractions (zoo, Sea World, safari and town of San Diego). Overall, we recommend it and would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The bathroom was very small with old noisy lights. A fan came on with thelight. It had another heater light with a fan that you turn on with a black knob. It was also noisy but not as bad. The regular light was so loud we never turned it on again. The bedroom was seperate from living room and was nice. The beds were very comfortable and the pull out couch was one of the most comfortable I have seen in a hotel. Living room was good size too. Old tvs but they worked fine. Nice breakfast, nice staff and nice courtyard. Just needs new bathrooms!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel was horrible and I absolutely won't be back here. The parking lot is shared with a Holiday Inn Express and we had to drive around for 5 minutes waiting for someone to leave. The front of the Holiday Inn had an event room that was attached to the circle drive for the Comfort Suites. There were several teenagers having a party in the room and it took up all the parking for both hotels. They were noisy and the "security officer" told them several times to get off the property.
The room was extremely old and dirty. I wore socks because the carpet was so stained and gross. After walking across the carpet a few times, my white socks were completely black on the bottom. The room is very outdated and doesn't look like it's been updated for over 20 years. I stay at Comfort Suites 4 or 5 times per month, and this is one of the worst I've been to. The breakfast room was large and spacious, but the selection of food items was not good.
We rented two rooms -- one king and two doubles. The double room had two full size beds -- not even queen as standard in most hotels. The TV's were old and very large. The furniture in the "suite" was old and stained.

Stay away from this hotel if you can. We would have left and went somewhere else, but we arrived late into San Diego and everyone was very tired.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

and attitude towards service. From help at the front desk, on bus schedules to having the a/c adjusted. The staff at this hotel are just great. The rooms are nice and big. The pool and grounds are well maintained and spotless. Staff are working everywhere. Working for my comfort and security. Well worth it. Excellent value. Thank you for a great time. We are definitely going to be repeat customers!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor - no complaints at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar

Address: 9880 Mira Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92131 (Formerly Quality Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar is located right off of Interstate 15 in Central San Diego. The hotel is within walking distance to restaurants, movies, shopping, and a short drive to San Diego's famous sights and attractions - SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo Safari Park, Balboa Park, Gaslamp Quarter, and San Diego beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Choice Hotels, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites i-15 Miramar Hotel San Diego
Quality Inn San Diego
Quality Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.