We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopeless Hyatt” 1 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa to your Saves list
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10044 Pacific Mesa Blvd., San Diego, CA 92121 (Formerly Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #82 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hopeless Hyatt”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I concur with several ratings provided to this property. I am a diamond tier member with Hyatt and used my points to stay at this property for 2 nights.

John am never bothered to respond to my emails and Jill Nelson sarcastically responded to my emails informing me that she is crediting points for 1 night back. Her argument was that we never complained when we had listed all the complaints to reception to Christian who was never wanting to attend to complaints.
We stayed in the room for 2 nights. Below were my concerns that were never addressed:
1. My 4 yr old and both of us (me and wife) were unable to sleep due to noisy ventilation in room 357. We were unable to watch tv in the living room due to the noise
2. During the entire stay, I was told "one minute" by Christian and this minute never ended - no one responded to our concerns
3. Breakfast on first day - was overcrowded and we went out for breakfast
4. Farthest bed in the bedroom has a bump in the middle making it impossible to sleep. Living room sofa bed - we couldn't sleep as well
5. The room was not cleaned second day. Only linen was tucked in. The living room carpet was left dirty.
6. The room provided had no view from either the bed room or the living room

Room Tip: Avoid this hyatt property as it lacks customer service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

I am truly sorry that we were unable to provide you with the level of service that you deserve as a Diamond Member.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    66
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
53
40
13
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Poor customer service-..overcrowded restaurant during the complimentary morning buffet! Not enough seating for guests..we had to carry back breakfast to the room which was very inconvenient. Refills would either take too long or just wouldn't happen.

Average quality of food at the in house restaurant even though we ordered the recommended chef specials!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. I do apologize for the poor customer service you recieved.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights got little if any sleep, NO A/C no fan told the desk after coming back from dinner late, well suggestion to move rooms doesn't cut it after long plane rides. Made the issue know the next am before leaving for meetings, came back later again after dinner meeting, guess what front desk tells me a story of "well he said he just came down from the room" Yes its fixed,,lmao not even close. You would think they could get their story straight and quite covering for their bad efforts...Would not stay here again, also for the bar: who in their right mind "deep fries" pot stickers?

Room Tip: the only good thing here the showers thats it and size of the flat screen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay! I truly apologize for the A/C issues that you had during your stay and please know I am in the process of correcting the issues you experianced during your stay.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Again, thank you for staying with us! If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed here for three nights before Christmas and I really liked the clean and spacious room they had. Surrounding are is basically Qualcomm city with several office buildings, but if you are on business trip and visiting Qualcomm or other local businesses, I highly recommend this hotel.

In the mornings I used once the training room and once went out side for a run. I recommend to go out for run since especially in the morning the surrounding are is very quite and you can select from several routes. Training room is good short training session, but it is quite small.

Breakfast was ok.

Rooms air conditioning was quite laud and for some reason it kept turning on even thought I had turned it off. This effected the sleep quality. The bed thought was really nice.

One more things was the lack of digital TV, but I didn't have time for watch TV that much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay! I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found the hotel rooms to be so comfortable and clean!
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Again, thank you for staying with us! If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was in San Diego for training out near Miramar. This location was close to things and very pleasant. The rooms were VERY spacious with full kitchens and a large living room area. The staff was also great.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay! I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found the hotel rooms to be so comfortable and clean!
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Again, thank you for staying with us! If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Located in the center of the San Diego-Sorrento Valley tech scene, this hotel offers clean rooms (perhaps a bit on the small side), a decent breakfast buffet included with several hot options (including miso and lentil soups which were both pretty tasty).

They also serve dinner and have a bar (I did not try either of these)

Staff is friendly, parking is pretty easy, there is small food court walking distance if you are looking for other dining options.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay! I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us! I am also delighted that you enjoyed the hotel Morning Spread Breakfast and found the hotel rooms to be so comfortable and clean!
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Again, thank you for staying with us! If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I had the opportunity to take my wife to San Diego for a weekend and decided to try out the Hyatt House Sorrento Mesa. It turned out to be a great weekend with great food and fun times. The thing that really added to the stay though was the Hotel. I have to say the Hyatt House was a beautiful resort with wonderful rooms. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful. My hat goes off to the folks at Hyatt for a wonderful weekend experience.

Room Tip: The suites are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay! I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us! I am also delighted that you and your wife enjoyed the hotel Morning Spread Breakfast and found the hotel rooms to be so comfortable!.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Again, thank you for staying with us! If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa

Address: 10044 Pacific Mesa Blvd., San Diego, CA 92121 (Formerly Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel Sorrento Mesa
Woodfin San Diego
Woodfin Suites Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Suite San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.