We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa to your Saves list
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10044 Pacific Mesa Blvd., San Diego, CA 92121 (Formerly Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #83 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hotel had obviously been refurbished - noticed that the minute I stepped on the new carpet. Everything was new and very clean. Friendly front desk service. Breakfast had more than enough choices and they were all very good. Only big issue I had the first day was that I had to ask when our room was going to be cleaned (I did have the sign on the door). They didn't come until 4:15. I wish they would have included body lotion in their bath amenities too - only offered shampoo and conditioner. Also request a room that isn't on the Mira Mesa Blvd side of the hotel. It's very noisy with car traffic 24 hours. There were a couple other noise issues - like hearing someone above us walking alot and a less than quiet refrig.

Room Tip: Upper floor not on Mira Mesa Blvd side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    65
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
53
38
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lemoore, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just stayed for one night, but the rooms in this hotel were fantastic. Clean, new, and spacious. There were two huge flat screen TVs, one in each room of the large suite. The full kitchen was clean and everything we would have needed for an extended stay. The hotel breakfast was great, with plenty of options. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Man and wife from Florida recently stayed 2 nights at Hyatt House in San Diego Sorrento area and really enjoyed our stay. The room was newly remodeled, had two queen beds (requested) and large flat-screen TV, toiletries in very clean modern bathroom. Floor tile in bath was great, as it was slightly grooved texture to prevent slips or falls. The breakfast buffet was absolutely outstanding with omlets made to order (by the manager, no less) and all items replaced before running out. We did not use the pool or hot tub, but it looked very nice. Check in was a breeze and so was check-out. We booked through Hotwire and got a really good deal. This is an ideal place to stay if you have business or pleasure in the northern San Diego area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here on 3 occasions and very happy with each, however the location is rather remote from any social scene. Never tried restaurant at night time but breakfast was great, great selection and service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Yes it's not right next to the gaslamp or sea world but its a modern, clean hotel. We've only stayed in the 1br suites which are not huge but way better than a plain hotel room. There is a full kitchen which is so convenient even for just prepping snacks or kids meals. But the service is what I wanted to highlight. Cory Craig, assistant general manager foresaw a problem with our upcoming stay and took the initiative to work up a solution that perfectly accommodated our group of 12. She then tried to contact me at different times and with different methods to make sure I was aware of the whole situation before we arrived. That level of service for just a simple overnight stay to me was above and beyond and has earned them my loyalty. (Whether my loyalty is worth anything is a different story...lol... But Hyatt House, you're stuck with me as a repeat customer!)
And their breakfast is nice! The Omelette bar is yum! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
245 hotel reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
404 helpful votes 404 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

the hotel is under renovation right now and I suppose the super priceline/hotwire deals (2,5* wins around $55/night) will be over soon but as described in my other reviews: mainly guests are long-stay Qualcomm employees and visitors from around the world. Remember that the Opaque hotel guests (priceline, hotwire) are supposed to fill the double-rooms which they can't sell officially as Hyatt house is a "suite only" concept - at the end it doesn't matter (for us).... ($10 for upgrade

If I compare the Hyatt house at Sorrento Mesa with other places in downtown and their overpriced parking and dining options I still think this Hyatt House is a great deal. Sorrow-free free parking, free high speed Wifi (high speed not low speed!!) and a breakfast which you won't find at other properties: huge selection of fresh fruits, made-to-order omelettes, asian breakfast and daily changing breakfast speciailities. The Jacuzzi and Pool in the courtcard are also a big plus to relax in the evening.

Personally I think that the distance from city center is an advantage: however you'll be in La Jolla within minutes also Torrey Pines glider point and beach is reachable within 15mins.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Family and I really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in the process of renovating their rooms and we stayed in one of those so keep that in mind. The renovated rooms are very nice. Full size kitchen and comfortable living area with sofa sleeper. The bedrooms have a king size bed and the bathroom had a very spacious walk in shower. Beautiful room.

Breakfast is included with stay and there is a large selection of foods plus an omelet station. They will rotate some buffet items on a daily basis to change it up.

The staff is super friendly from the front desk to bar staff to the gentlemen making the omelets. Everyone asked if there was anything we needed or would simply ask how your day was.

For us, the hotel location worked well for us because it was centrally located between the San Diego Zoo and Safari Park.

I didn't rate 5 star for cleanliness only because they are currently renovating a portion of the hotel so excuse their dust.

I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa

Address: 10044 Pacific Mesa Blvd., San Diego, CA 92121 (Formerly Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel Sorrento Mesa
Woodfin San Diego
Woodfin Suites Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Suite San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.