We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some attention” 2 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa to your Saves list
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10044 Pacific Mesa Blvd., San Diego, CA 92121 (Formerly Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #74 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
New York City
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Needs some attention”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Large rooms but a very cheerless establishment. Rate is surprisingly high given the condition of the hotel and the rooms which are very worn and in need of capital improvements. Rugs and upholstery are stained and worn. Furniture very out of date. Suites however are large and have kitchens. Kind of depressing. No room service. Staff very attentive and kind. Seems fairly clean.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    62
    21
    12
    7
See reviews for
53
35
13
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I really love being kept awake by the couple next to me at 3 in the morning. opening doors, running water, in fact lots of noises which you should never be able to hear from room to room in a decent hotel. Outdated, tired, awful food in the restaurant the only saving grace keeping this hotel from a 1 star is the staff who were outstanding, especially Ryan who was tireless in helping us out. for over $200 this place is a joke.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This property is a little dated, but is still one of the nicer properties in the area. I chose this hotel because it was near my customer in La Jolla and was under 220 a night. The Comfot Inn was $179 to give you an idea of how the rates for this area are so outrageous. I was only there for overnight, arrived at 10pm and checked out at 9am. The bed was just okay. The comforter wweighed about 20 lbs! I think this is an all suite property and I did not take advantage of the kitchen area.Very small pool are and gym/workout room. The free breakfast well above avaerage and the staff is very freindly.I was a little surprised there was a TV from 1999 in the room, sorry 2 TV's from '99 in the suite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I came to San Diego to see our sons for the holiday. Our stay was very enjoyable. The staff: I believe the guys name was Chris (Latio man working nights) was there to welcome us at 11:00 PM, and got us to our room quickly. When we got to our room it was not as expected, because we were told that it had a soft-sleeper. Chris asked if we could keep this room until in the morning when the manager was present. The manager was very nice, profession, and helped resolve our issue. She was very attentive and caring about our situation and went above and beyond to accommodate us. The room we switch to was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast in the morning was excellent and second to none. I've paid $$$ for a buffet like that. They had everything on the breakfast bar! The staff was very attentive during breakfast and assisted in any way possible.

There were little small things that needed to be repaired or fixed. Lamp shade was just sitting on top of the lamp. If you moved the lamp it would fall off. The bar chair, back fabric needed to be re-attached. The work desk in the first room needed to be re-glued. Just small things. After talking with Christine, she informed me that you guys are remodeling and all should be in line on the next visit. I would still recommend to family and friends. Location was nice, staff was excellent, and breakfast was great!

Room Tip: Get the King suite with the kitchen and soft-sleeper even if there are only 1 or 2 people. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is close to Balboa Park and other attractions. It is located within a secluded business area with restaurants and shops within a short driving distance. Very spacious suites with kitchenettes and very clean. The TV and use an update, but it was not an issue for us. The complimentary breakfast is fantastic and an assortment to choose from.

You may smell a variety of spices due to long term guest cooking in their rooms. If it's not pleasant for you, the staff will quickly provide airfreshners. The staff is wonderful and we will definitely stay their again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days during a trip to San Diego in July 2012. Location was very convenient, about half an hour to Sea World, San Diego Zoo etc. Great breakfast with made to order omelets on some days. Lots of restaurants on Mira Mesa road. There is a Chili's close by. If you head East on Mira Mesa there are lost of restaurants and a Vons Grocery store. The kitchenette in the room is useful to prepare meals after long days at the zoo or Sea world. Pool is small but adequate. Washer/Dryer on 2nd floor. Business center is useful to print boarding passes etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa

Address: 10044 Pacific Mesa Blvd., San Diego, CA 92121 (Formerly Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel Sorrento Mesa
Woodfin San Diego
Woodfin Suites Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Suite San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.