We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American Dream” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Dana on Mission Bay to your Saves list
The Dana on Mission Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“American Dream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Great small family resort, tropical pool area and outdoor evening movies. Good dining options with yummy breakfasts. Sea world was within walking distance if you're British ! Room was miniscule but we were hardly in it. Very close to the airport and within easy reach of the old town station for the pacific surf liner .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDana, Guest Relations Manager at The Dana on Mission Bay, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Maya L,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is so gratifying to know we provided both a wonderful environment and service to match! We feel convenience and location are priceless, and we are thrilled you took advantage.

We love our friends from “across the pond” and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    446
    172
    111
    65
See reviews for
590
365
44
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

As everyone says,the location and grounds are very nice and our room service and restaurant service,was very good....We were there for a wedding weekend..If you're not facing the marina,you can have a very noisy room..Our room was in the 700 bldg. and it is on the main blvd..So you hear trucks,cars and motorcycles continually..There is no sound proofing between walls or floors so you hear everything..The people above us,paced half the night..We got NO sleep for 3 nights..Also they have the nerve to charge you $20 a night to park at "THEIR" hotel..They should be greatful we paid their excessive room rates..
The wedding and food were great,but you had to leave the reception hall and cross over to the lobby to use the bathrooms..Not very convenient..

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDana, Guest Relations Manager at The Dana on Mission Bay, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear bugman33772,

Thank you for your recent review. We love Wedding Season here at The Dana! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and delicious restaurant’s!

We apologize for the noise you encountered in your room. We understand noise can be an issue in these rooms and we are taking the necessary steps towards preventing this. Parking by the beach is limited. We do our best to keep prices comparable to the area.

We hope to see you again at The Dana on Mission Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morongo Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My 14 year old daughter and I just enjoyed another wonderful visit at this hotel. Rooms, property and food all excellent, as usual. It's simply the place we love to spend time while in San Diego. Special shout out to Marcus at the front desk. Amazing young man who made our stay so much more enjoyable with his smile and attitude!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDana, Guest Relations Manager at The Dana on Mission Bay, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear JimR92256,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us.

We take great pride in our hotel, and are overjoyed when our guest’s appreciate all we do. It is a pleasure to share these reviews with our hard working team members!

Thank you again for staying here at The Dana on Mission Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Dana in Mission Bay is a real find for families, especially if your spring for a deluxe a bay view room. These rooms are right on the grass overlooking the water. Patio rooms are great for kids since they can play on the grass as well as skate, bike, and scooter on the sidewalk, all in plain sight of parents. Upper level third floor rooms have great views and are a bit quieter if that matters. Try to avoid the weekend in summer because there are lots of weddings here with the corresponding crowds and noise. The rooms are clean and spacious with refrigerators and microwaves. The two pools provide diversion and can be crowded at times, yet folks come and go doing the tourist stuff like Sea World so you can usually get a lounge. The inside pool has kid-friendly movies at night, while swimming! Staff are friendly and helpful and try to give you the room you want. The do charge for parking overnight AND a resort fee as well, but that includes fast and free Wi-Fi. our only complaint was that half the time our TV had no signal and a repairman was sent over 3 different times. We had the same problem last year! Also, the hotel is basically at Dana Landing, a marina with several kinds of rentals, e.g., kayaks, boats, paddle boards, etc. that makes it very convenient. If you want the beach, it's about a 15 minute walk.

Room Tip: The deluxe bay rooms are the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDana, Guest Relations Manager at The Dana on Mission Bay, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Bernadette719,

Thank you for your amazing review! It is wonderful to hear from our valued repeat customers and we treasure your continued patronage. We are so proud of our property and staff, and appreciate when they are recognized.

Thank you for your comment regarding our televisions; we recognize this is an issue and hope to have a remedy for this very soon.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Really great resort for kids. There is a lot of park/bay area adjoining the property where kids can play in the grass, skateboard, etc. Also, there are a few pools and outdoor dining. Overall, this is a really great location for families with kids- kayaks, paddle boats, etc. can be rented right there and the beach is within walking distance, as parking for the beach can be challenging.

The suite had a micro and refrigerator, which was very convenient but there were no cups, plates, napkins, etc. so bring your own. The 2 queen beds were pretty nice and comfortable (white duvets) but the pull out sofa was one of the worst I've ever slept on- had to knock myself out with a sleeping pill to get any rest:) The refrigerator had not been cleaned when we checked in but everything else was pretty clean. In addition, there was a $20 a night parking fee.

Room Tip: We stayed in a large suite on the ground floor (1120) that opened up directly onto a grassy park ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDana, Guest Relations Manager at The Dana on Mission Bay, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Kimberley29Chandler,

Thank you for your recent review. We are ecstatic that you and your family were able to enjoy all that Mission Bay has to offer!

As for the refrigerator, we apologize for the issue. We are re-evaluating our inspection processes to ensure this type of issue does not occur in the future.

Again, thank you for the feedback as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Spent 4 nights at this hotel as part of a road trip in California. Upgraded from a standard room to the Deluxe Bay view room which was well worth the additional cost. Room was clean, large and with great views.

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel which is ideal for a visit to Seaworld. Car parking was provided (at a cost) but the spaces are tight and can be hard to find if returning late in the evening to the hotel.

Although two pools are provided they did seem rather small for the size of hotel and did run out of pool towels during our visit.

Overall I enjoyed my stay and would visit again if in the area.

Room Tip: Upgrade to bay view rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDana, Guest Relations Manager at The Dana on Mission Bay, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Judi10x,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are so happy you and your family were able to unwind, relax, and enjoy our bay views after a long road trip.

Thank you again, and it was our pleasure to host you here at The Dana on Mission Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

First greeted by an unfriendly woman at check-in (the others were nicer). Room we received was a long walk (no car) and on the street. Did move us at the end of the afternoon to better location, but room wasn't near as nice. Since we couldn't drive anywhere, ate mostly at the 2 restaurants....Blue Pearl was excellent food and service, but only served breakfast. Outstanding -- Firefly did not have good service, or the pool area. No comparison between the two...Dominique was exceptional, along with the staff and greeter/mgr.? at Blue Pearl. Hotel is well located for Sea World and the beach -- we used the shuttle quite a bit. Hate to say it, but my young grandson said he wanted to come back -- but to a different hotel! The final bill showed $60 for parking for 3 nights, and we didn't have a car! Glad I saw that charge on the final bill, along with our shuttle fee.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room on the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDana, Guest Relations Manager at The Dana on Mission Bay, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Joyn45,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and share your experiences with us. We are so glad you and your grandson enjoyed the Blue Pearl as well as our proximity to SeaWorld and the beach!

We apologize for any confusion regarding parking but are pleased it was resolved. Customer service is of our highest priorities, and your comments regarding it are greatly valued.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Dana on Mission Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay

Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Family Hotel in San Diego
#72 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dana on Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.