We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Nickel and Dime ya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Dana on Mission Bay to your Saves list
The Dana on Mission Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Ogden, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“They Nickel and Dime ya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great stay clean beautiful but so many fees and upgrade charges u don't know what it really cost tell u check out. Services was good, house keeping was great. Only complaint was ac needed a worker to come adjust something and it took 2 hrs for them to show up.

Room Tip: The upgrade to rooms with garden view still have a great view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    463
    182
    112
    68
See reviews for
609
385
45
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mira Loma, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We got a deal with groupon, so we were put in the farthest back corner as possible. The room was tiny with no closet. It had a bureau that took up the walkway to the bathroom. The microwave is actually under the bathroom sink. The first night I was in the bathroom and there was hair in the corners on the floor. Then I saw a gigantic centipede. I screamed and my husband came and killed it. The second night my daughter found a huge spider on her bed the size of a fifty cent piece. We told the management and they didn't say anything, just had the attitude like oh well. Parking is expensive at 20 bucks a night. The pools were nice but crowded. Beds were hard and my husband, myself and my daughter all have back aches.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel several times and normally have a good time. Few things to know. Part of this hotel has been remodeled and part has not. We've only stayed in the newer area of the hotel. The rooms are nice and big. I love the shutters and the patios especially if you stay on the ground floor. It's next to sea world which is convenient and you can see their fireworks every night from your room .there is a marina where you can rent some items like paddle boats etc. the hotel has a great pool. I enjoy the rooms near the bay. There is a public park in view of some of the rooms which I didn't like so much. It's a short distance to the beach. Easy to get to restaurants and even a couple of grocery stores. Belmont park is nearby. The rooms are clean. Parking can be a challenge but there is parking on site. Overall great place and we will come back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

First off, the staff at this hotel is unbelievable! Our family (5) stayed for 3 nights in May and ended up having several quirky requests/situations. From very late night laundry needs, to the mailing of our son's accidentally left behind Disney hat, the customer service is immediate and hassle-free. At the front desk, Marcus took care of every single challenge I gave him (i.e. best pizza delivery, airport shuttle, printing of boarding passes, sea world shuttle, etc.) His co-workers are also quite professionally and I'd be proud to have any one of them work for my business. Lisa - at the on-site restaurant 'Firefly' - was wonderful through split kids' meals, spilt slushies, tired tourists, etc. and really made us feel comfortable.

Honestly, the food was overpriced and good, but not great.
The room was also overpriced and fine, nothing to brag about.
The pool areas, common areas, and landscaping were all very clean and well cared for.
The late night planes/jets overhead were tolerable.

BUT the staff - from the lady in the gift shop to the shuttle drivers, to Mike (super service!) at the poolside bar, to those mentioned above - were out of this world, well trained, hospitable, ultra-professional and willing to do anything for us! Where else have we gotten such consistent service... Only at the Dana !!!

Room Tip: The 800s building has a nice lawn area out front, overlooks the marina, and is close to the Blue Pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

No rooms available even after 2:30. We're told check-in would not occur until 4 pm. Requested a king room, were given one with twin beds. Had to return to lobby to get another room. Room was adequate--coffee maker, small fridge, safe, and microwave, along with tiny corner closet. Carpet is a bit dirty / shabby. This spot seems to cater to families who want to be close to Seaworld, so it was a bit more noisy than some hotels. Check-in staff was pleasant, but a bit amateurish. Additional charges--parking fee of $10 a day and resort fee of $14 a day for us. This is rated as a 3 star, but it seems miles away from being a resort. A bit expensive for what you get.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Across the road from Sea World, close to everything, if you have a car. My best ie and I have been twice. Clean. Pool. Arena for walking as the sun rises. Ten min from Pacific Beach, 15 from last
La Jolla... 12 min from Mary's. Looooved this Place! Firefly has a diverse menu and delight drinks!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is my second time staying at The Dana on MB. The Reservation Team Member suggested the Lanai room since I have two children which had patio access to the pool. My kids enjoyed use of the Sand Box, Pool, Movie Night at the Pool and other various amenities. Our first stay was at the Bayside Suites which also was pleasant. We will definitely return for another visit.

Room Tip: Go with a Bayside or Lanai Room. Summertime fun includes Movie nights at pool & fireworks from S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay

Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#47 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dana on Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.