We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay

Save Saved
You added The Dana on Mission Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #93 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Loved our stay at the Dana. Excellent location. Loved the nice walks to the beach. The room was nice, quiet, clean. A couple of different places to eat on the property (didn't actually eat there, but the food looked good). I nice little gym. I place on the property where you could rent bikes, kayaks, and boats.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    444
    171
    111
    65
See reviews for
588
361
43
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were just guests at a wedding at the hotel. Great San Diego location on the bay and convenient to all the great places in San Diego. This is an older hotel but it does have two new buildings complete with balconies or patios on the bay. The older buildings offer smaller but well maintained rooms.

The staff makes this place. Everyone from Front Desk to Maids are friendly and very helpful. Our room was immaculate and came with microwave. refrigerator a Kerac coffee maker and free wi-fi. On site restaurant (Firefly) has outside service as well as inside and the view is great. The wait staff handled the wedding reception and could not have been nicer.

For the low price this is a great deal and we will stay again our next time in San Diego

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Dana for a conference. It is a great central location where you can get to lots of places quickly. Very nice guest service people. Rooms are comfortable - beds a little hard for my taste, but nice linens and lots of fluffy pillows. Lovely location overlooking the marina and a short walk from sunset point. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas Valley
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is actually our second time staying at the Dana. The first time was about 10 years ago with my wife. This time we had our daughters, ages 5 and 2, in tow.

The rooms had been updated since our last stay, which was a pleasant surprise. The location was perfect for a family of four, with a car, for a beach vacation. The property sit right next to the marina, which was fascinating for my daughters. They loved the boats.

The rooms were fine. Nothing I would pay more than $110 per night, which was about what I got, after parking, resort fees, and taxes.

Drive time to Ocean Beach, Belmont Park, and the San Diego Zoo were all a breeze.

In the mornings, we saved money by taking a short walk to the bait shop/ convenience store to get breakfast items like cereal, fresh pastries and sandwiches.

We never got to make use of the pools, but they seemed clean and just about always had people swimming there. My daughters loved the common area courtyards, plenty of room for them to run around and play.

It's not the Ritz, but this was a comfortable, clean, and affordable place to use as a base for our short stay in San Diego.

I would definitely stay here again, if I can get a similar deal.

Room Tip: First floor rooms open to a courtyard. Very nice, if you have young kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for three nights during our honeymoon. I am coeliac (allergic to weath and gluten) and on the first night I checked with the restaurant whether they cater for such allergies. The restaurant staff assured me that they are very aware of such allergies and can provide meals for such allergies. The day after I went with my wife and ordered a beef steak and stir fried vegetables as a side. When the waiter came for our order I double checked and asked him to inform the kitchen that I am super allergic. The server, informed me that all items I ordered can be gluten free and he spoke with thw chef and came back to me to assure me that everything is fine. When the food came my wife and I were really happy as it looked really nice and well presented. I took a bit of my stake and and then when I tasted the vegetables I could taste soy sauce. I immediately asked the server and he addmited that there is gluten in my food. I am really disappointed with service. If the restaurant was not sure they shoulf have not taken the responsibility. I would definitely discourage coeliac people to dine at this hotel. They ruined our night. Completely diaappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Beautiful place and good location. We live in San Diego and were guest for a wedding. The staff was very nice and helpful. We had a room facing the bay witch we enjoyed. Enjoy the boat renting and take a trip out, priceless!!

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are very nice and quieter. Make sure you pick one that has the bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay

Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Family Hotel in San Diego
#72 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dana on Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.