We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get more than one key” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay

Save Saved
You added The Dana on Mission Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 269 hotels in San Diego
University Place
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“get more than one key”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I got two keys to room- one would work one time but not the next and the same for the other key-always leaving me in uncertainty if i was going to get into room- if i go there again i will get four keys. For me the bathroom could have been cleaner-bed very comfortable- excellent coffee maker once you figure out how to use it-tv has a mass amount of stations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    591
    437
    162
    110
    67
See reviews for
555
349
42
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Mission Bay for a relaxing weekend. Check In was good. Things went downhill from there. We were surprised to learn there was a "parking fee" of $20 per night since the hotel is in close proximity to the beach. We came to lay by the pool and relax, not to visit the beach or Sea World. The room was small, carpets were filthy, television remote battery weak, paint peeling in the sink, bathroom condition deplorable. Shower hardly worked. Asked for room to be cleaned and was offered "lip service". All to the tune of $228.00 per night. We normally stay at the Hyatt Islandia across the street, which is excellent by the way. Islandia is less expensive and rooms, staff, hotwl conditions excellent. My wife and I travel extensively domestically and abroad. This is one of the worst accomodations we have experienced. Staff not too helpful but that is more a function of poor management. The pool was "adequate". We will not stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Stay at Hyatt Islandia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We recently stayed there and carpets were very dirty. We were told an engineer would be by and clean, but never showed. The room is very out of date and I would not stay there again. We were told we would have a $20 a day credit to our room for eating breakfast at the Firefly. They coded it as lunch, so no credit. I asked for a late check out on our last day. The charge was $20 for 2 hours, which was fine, but we were locked out of our room and had to call and wait to be let in. Overall, disappointed with the rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I had a great stay at the Dana hotel. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by an upgraded room at check in. The room was great, spacious and the view of the bay from our balcony was lovely. We ate several meals at the Firefly and the other restaurant on site, all of which were very good. We also had great service at check in and during our stay.

Room Tip: Our upper room floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We found the Dana to be a very nice resort on San Diego's Mission Bay. Super close to Sea World and you can use their shuttle service back and forth. Great service in almost every way, the staff is helpful and everyone was very pleasant to deal with. The views were excellent of the bay and especially the nightly fireworks display at Seaworld. We spent a week there and have to say it was very relaxing. Lots of fun family activities close by.

Room Tip: The rooms in the #600 bldg have a super overall view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Purchased two "view" rooms and yes, there's a window, but a view? Seriously this is the dumpiest set of rooms I've stayed in, in years and there is NO view. We are a party of 6 and asked for adjacent rooms. Their excuse for putting us in these absolute crap rooms is that "these are the only two rooms that are together".
I travel enough to know that all it takes to have two rooms together is to hold two rooms together in a reservation.

So disappointed I cannot even stand it. We just checked in today and if we could get a refund, I would be all over it!!!
The exterior of this place looks like it hasn't been kept up or updated since day 1.

Convenient to Sea World, but so is the Hyatt across the street.
I've stayed there and it's FANTASTIC.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I get to San Diego at least once a year usually staying out on Coronado Island. We were interested in trying a hotel that would be good for a future family vacation with grand kids but having a water setting and adult amenities. Friends suggested this hotel which is also a Shell Vacation Club Resort. There are two sections to the hotel: an older garden setting and newer three story water's edge buildings. We were in the middle of one of these buildings on the second floor. It was a large room with a king bed, sitting area, louvered shutters onto a large pvt balcony (lovely sunsets on the bay), mini frig, MW, coffee maker etc. bathroom was large and ok. There was a lovely grassy area between the hotel and the bay. Short walk to the pool and restaurant (Firefly). Free parking outside the units. I guess you can walk to SeaWorld or take the shuttle. The hotel is bout a mile by car out to Mission Beach with boardwalk, shops, restaurants. We decided this would be a great place for a family vacation. We spent 4 days here and enjoyed beautiful weather and the pool and restaurant right by the pool. It was relaxing and while you can not see the bay from the pool, it had a very nice setting. The hotel is moderately priced and they seem to have lots of on line specials. We were there off season for school holidays. I think families often chose the older buildings. We did not use the fitness room but walked every morning along the bay and found a bagel place and marina restaurant at The Marriott for great breakfasts. It was a relaxing mini vacation. Will probably return.

Room Tip: Chose new water's edge buildings on second or third floors. They call them deluxe rooms. Try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay

Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#45 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dana on Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.