We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't have the opportunity to truly experience it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay

Save Saved
You added The Dana on Mission Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #95 of 269 hotels in San Diego
North Branford, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“didn't have the opportunity to truly experience it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Upon arrival the Dana appears to be very clean and well kept. I take great care in making reservations when I travel with my two adult daughters who are wheelchair users. We truly enjoy each and every vacation and knowing that we have specific criteria to allow for an enjoyable vacation I check, double check and triple check.

After check in we went to our room and found that the two room bay view suite for the five of us had one queen bed and one pull out sofa rather than the two queen beds and pull out that would be needed. After going into the bathroom I found that rather than the roll out shower we booked we had a bath tub (something that was not possible for us). The sink was also not ADA compliant as a wheelchair user would not be able to roll under it. After numerous conversations we decided we were not able to stay at The Dana and were lucky enough to find very accommodating people and rooms at the Marriott Coronado. Please see that review.

All's well that ends well as our stay at the Marriott Coronado Resort and Spa was wonderful and so much fun!

Although this turned out in a positive way this could have been horrible. There were other miscommunications so I would be quite careful when booking here.

Room Tip: The bay view suite was very pretty. If you are a disabled traveler I would be careful booking here.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    593
    436
    165
    109
    65
See reviews for
580
351
42
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I booked our reservations from Hotel.com. The pictures listed on that website were of a very nice, newly constructed, two level Dana Hotel. The rooms were large, very nicely furnished, and overlooking the bay. When I got to our room I was so disappointed I just about cried. I
wanted this to be the perfect vacation. The majority of the rooms at the Dana Hotel are spread out across their 10 acre (approx.) facility. They appeared to be military base housing at one time. There are approximately seven units . The bedrooms were approximately 12x18 feet with either one king bed or 2 queen beds. Naturally the room with the 2 queens were quite crowded. The bathrooms were quite small with an older tub and rust around the hardware. A poor attempt had been made of remodeling them by surrounding the tub and floor with travertine tile . The bed was a good bed and carpet appeared to be new. Now I know why I got such a good deal at Hotel.com for $166.00 per night. I feel this is false advertising when you show pictures that don't represent the majority of the rooms. Be upfront, show the pictures of the older Dana with the ' older pool.

Room Tip: Make sure you know which Dana you will be staying at . The old or the new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Nothing fancy, but it is clean. We had a great location in the 400 building on the first floor. The first floor rooms have a nice patio with a couple of chairs. Our patio was adjacent to the pool. The 2nd floor units don't have a patio. The room itself was small, the bathroom was tiny. We were busy doing things in SD, so luckily we did not spend a lot of time in the room. The pool area was nice with a large jacuzzi and a poolside bar. They charge for parking, but have free wifi. the wifi was not great. They gave us a breakfast credit at the Pearl restaurant. The food was fine. Nice location if you are going to Sea World.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Nice place. Rooms are more focused on family non-luxury travelers. Not close enough to a nice beach in my opinion. I could see this being a really fun place with kids during the summer season, but while I was there, the restaurant was closed and there was very little to do outside of a nice walk on the bay front.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I love staying at the Dana Resort on Mission Bay. I brew my coffee in my room and put on the wonderful robes they provide and sit on the balcony and watch the ships going out of the harbor and the crew teams in their morning workouts. It's a great way to start the day. The accomodations are great and the staff is very good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the bay are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel clean comfortable rooms. Hotel staff very helpful. Found good price on Priceline and staff very good about honoring price. Wonderful on site restaurants. Would love to spend more time. Park like setting. 2 beautiful pools.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the dana for 3 days, and it was well worth it. The hotel was very clean and the service was excellent. I will definitely be going back. I had dinner at the firefly which is a restaurant that was onsite. The food was great and the service was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay

Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dana on Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.