We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View, Quiet and Close to Sea World” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Dana on Mission Bay to your Saves list
The Dana on Mission Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice View, Quiet and Close to Sea World”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was pleased with this hotel. We did stay in the larger suite type room and they are very pleasant with a nice view of Mission Bay. The staff was outstanding and our rooms were cleaned nicely everyday. Nice pool, loved Firefly the restaurant and we really liked the outdoor seating in the evening with heat lamps. They also have a couple "fireplace" tables. They gave us several comps and did not charge for parking. They have a shuttle to Sea World which is handy. I thought it was a good value.

Room Tip: Get the suites, better location and close to Firefly and pool. Best views as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    500
    200
    117
    70
See reviews for
663
417
50
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I took a little weekend getaway to the Dana off of a great deal from Hotwire. For what we paid, it was an excellent value! The Firefly restaurant was fantastic, albeit not very speedy service, but we didn't have a single sub-par meal there! We found that the other restaurant, the Blue Pearl, had a weird atmosphere (Denny's diner type of experience). The Dana is mostly for families and the Sea World crowd, but we had a great time on our couples getaway. There is a Flex shuttle service you can use that's cheaper than cabs, so if you don't rent a car remember that! Nick at the front desk and Lisa at the Firefly had exceptional customer service!

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra to have a room facing the garden or the bay. The rooms that face the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A beautiful place to stay! The kids loved the two heated pools, hot tubs and the sand playing area. The atmosphere was very lush and friendly. Excellent shuttle service from airport and to SeaWorld. Very close to everything. The walking path a long the marina was great and the resturants were a great value. Definitely would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were in a bayview room and loved the water view. The room was clean and we made use of the microwave, minifridge, cupboards, barsink, foam dishes and plastic cutlery provided. The safe was handy as well. There is a small convinence store which is part of the marina and is a one or two minute walk. The king bed was comfortable. We were on the third floor and had a tubular or tunnel skylight in the bathroom. If you are in the building nearer to the bridge and park, you will get sun on your balcony in the afternoon. The park beside The Dana is well used for picnics, bonfires and exercise and the path in front used for running and walking. If you have noisy neighhbours you will hear them. We were quite tired at the end of our days and so ate at The Blue Pearl. The food was great and reasonably priced. We especially loved the ribs. We bought a two day pass for the Trolley Tour which is a great way to get around to different attractions without renting a car. They pick up at select hotels and take you to Old Town to get on the Trolley tour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is in a great place to visit Mission Bay. It is located right next to bay and you can walk to the beach (about 15 minute walk). The rooms are big with comfortable beds and the shower has great water pressure. We stayed here one night since the second night (a Friday) the price went up $100! So, if you're going during the week, it is a much better deal.

Parking is $20/night, which is expensive but I've found that most places in the San Diego area charge ridiculous parking rates. (If you stay in the city, park in a garage, not your hotel parking lot to save money).

The front desk staff were very helpful and polite. We ate one night at their fancier restaurant which was delicious.

Room Tip: Rooms near the water are have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the Dana for the last 2 nights and I'll say it was just average. I booked this motel because it was close to Sea World, Mission Beach and the Zoo. (A 15 min walk to the front gate of Sea World.) My initial thoughts upon arriving were very good. Looked clean, a little older, but clean. The front desk personnel were very nice and no worries about where to park. I was aware of the charge for parking before I arrived so I didn't suffer sticker shock when I heard $20 a night to park. We stayed in a standard 2 queen room on the lower level. When we got in the room the carpet was dated and could use a shampoo or replacement. The microwave was in a VERY WEIRD spot under the bathroom sink. Also only some of the channels worked on the tv, but that didn't bother us as we were not in the room too long. One flaw that the doors have is they self-close slow at first then they slam shut. Very annoying when your neighbors arrive late and wake you up cause their door keeps slamming shut. The Dana has 2 restaurants on site and we ate at the The Blue Pearl. While the menu is pretty unspectacular the service was great! Overall our experience was good and I would stay here again because of the location and staff not the room itself.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green River, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice place to stay, front desk friendly and helpful. Sayed in the 700 room first night, very small and need updated but was ok. Upgrated to bay view room next night and was much bigger and the view was awesome. Pool and Fire Fly bar was great. Stayed here with my family and would go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay

Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
#72 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dana on Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.