We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Dana on Mission Bay to your Saves list
The Dana on Mission Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
“Great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The staff at the Dana Hotel was so friendly and helpful, and the location was fantastic (walking distance to the beach and Sea World). We especially loved the breakfasts at the Blue Pearl, where we were greeted like family and treated with great care and respect. The service was always prompt, even when it was busy. The beds were comfortable, our room was quiet. The hotel building we were in is not new, but it is clean. We plan on going back for a family vacation. There are so many activities to do right in the area, and the shuttle services and public transport make other venues available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    466
    182
    112
    69
See reviews for
614
386
46
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My mom and I stayed at the Dana which is within a 20 minute walk to Mission beach. Plus the number 8 bus is right across the street and connects to trolleys downtown, making it easy to get around without a car. We stayed in the newer 2000 units that face the water. It was great waking up and watching boats, rowers, sail boaters, kayaks, walkers right out our balcony and windows. Plus the pool and hot tub face the water and marina. They rent bikes and kayaks at the marina. The hotel staff are wonderful. They want to make sure you enjoy your stay. The service and food at Blue Pearl was better than the Firefly restaurant. David our server got us another item when our toast came out dry and hard. The front desk staff were great at telling us how to get around by bus and save us money. Krista had a lot of info and took her time explaining things. Our room was newer and had flat screen tv and small fridge and microwave. The beds were comfy and room fairly quiet. Room service was fast and reasonably priced. Would stay here again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the 1000 or 2000 units since these face water and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephentown, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at The Dana for 5 nights. The staff helped in every way for a person with mobility problems. For any request, the staff was focused to resolve any issue. The hotel's location is convenient. The housekeeping was thorough. The shuttle drivers were lovely. The 2 on site restaurants were great with modest prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We loved our stay, the room and grounds are beautiful. The lobby was nice, appreciated the computer and printer to print our boarding passes. The shuttle ride to the airport is a very nice feature and Don the driver was very friendly and informative! The only downfall was having to pay $20.00 a day to park the rental car.

Room Tip: pool view was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. It was just my 3 yr old daughter and I having a mommy-daughter-a-cation.
I think the rooms are great. The beds are clean and comfy. I appreciate the real tile in the bathroom - not the fake-faux stuff.
I really appreciated the shuttle rides back and forth to seal world. Don, the driver, was really helpful and accomodating.So nice to have friendly welcoming person greeting you in the morning before a big day at Seal World.

Room Tip: The Dana needs better maps and signs. I felt lost the entire time I was here. So, bring a flashlight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Dana is in mission bay, close to sea world. Very beautiful and peaceful hotel. room is small but very clean, staff are very friendly, good place to have a vacation. Parking cost 20usd per day. Worth to stay....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The husband and I booked the Dana on a whim. We used an App called Hotels Tonight, you book hotels same day as travel and get deep discounted rates. I found this app a while ago but was leery of it… So we decided to try it in San Diego. We Live in Orange County so; if things didn’t work out we could have just driven the two hours home.
I am glad to say it worked out very well. We got a King room, it had a refrigerator, microwave, table with two chairs, robes, and the best part…. A Keurig coffee maker! I have one at home and I LOVE IT! If I had known that this hotel had them in the rooms, I would have brought my own pods. They had some good selections, but I have my favorites. The walls were somewhat thin; I could hear the people in the room above. I would recommend a room on the second floor.
The pool area was very nice, they had two pools, and one of the pools had a bar. They had reasonable pricing on drinks.
They offer a free shuttle to SeaWorld, you have to make reservations for it. You can also walk to SeaWorld, it’s really close. Really walking would be much faster.
There was also a $20 Parking fee. Parking was ample, and you could park in front of your room.
I didn’t have time to partake in these but they offered complimentary ping pong and shuffleboard. They also offered bike and boat rentals.
I had no problems with the people who worked there; they were very nice and extremely helpful with the area. All around a great stay, I would stay again.

Room Tip: If you are a Kerug fan, make sure to bring your own pods! So you can have your favorite blend in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay

Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dana on Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.