We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few days at The Dana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Dana on Mission Bay to your Saves list
The Dana on Mission Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Few days at The Dana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We chose this hotel for the location and the fact that they offer 2 Queen beds in their rooms (vs. Full size a lot of hotels are offering these days). Our stay was fantastic. First, we arrived quite early (11AM) for check-in and they proceeded to check us right in without even a comment of it, and gave us a top floor marina view room. Room is good size, dbl. sinks in bathroom. with a mini fridge, microwave and a K-cup coffee maker. Room had a big screen TV as well.
There are 2 pools, 2 hot tubs playing Caribbean style music and open until 11PM.
Restaurants on site are a family casual coffee shop, and Firefly Restaurant that is a bit more expensive and has a small bar with it. Couple of seafood restaurants across the street too.
Location is next door to Sea World and hotel has a morning shuttle to get there, and shuttle at Sea World closing. Large park is adjacent to the property, and across the bridge is Mission Beach!! Boardwalk, shops, restaurants, small amusement park and Beach.
TIP: If you rent bicycles to cruise the miles of paved paths, rent them at the beach , not the hotels. Rent for All day is same as one hour of rental at hotels.

Room Tip: Choose the "View room" for the building facing the marina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    454
    174
    111
    67
See reviews for
599
373
44
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Surprisingly, the rooms were actually nicer in person than they looked in the pictures! And the beds were super comfortable. We had an awesome view of the bay. We ate at Firefly and it was delish! What I loved: the efficiency of the front desk staff (thanks Samantha and Jiselle!) There was no wait, our requests were met, parking was not an issue (and free!), and of course our bayview.

Room Tip: We were in room 2108 and loved the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It was our second stay at Dana and being San Diegans, a perfect getaway once again minus the travel. Exceptional front desk service, clean room, all-around great location. Hangin' out by the pool and at the Firefly was so relaxing and so perfect for either a whole family or a romantic escape. I recommend the Dana to all my friends.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Best on site bar / eatery in a hotel that I have been to. Good value for the quality of the room that I stayed in. Right next to Sea World and other local attractions. Exceptional service from Jen, Vanessa and Ciara. Thank you will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I just completed 5 wonderful days at THE DANA. Check in was a breeze. Ciara has exceptional people skills. Room and balcony were wonderful no complaints at all. Loved the Firefly and the pool. Caribbean music piped in to the pool was wonderful. Hot tub temperature was just right.We spent most days just lounging at the pool and eating at the firefly. This location is awesome for San Diego. I have stayed at Hilton on the bay, Capri by the sea, the Bahia. This is the nicest hotel in Mission bay. You do need to stay in the new wing to enjoy the nicest rooms.

Won final note. One day the maid was out of pool towels. I called the front desk and Ciara herself brought my wife and I some towels right to the pool. Now when the front desk manager isn't to good to do the little things,that is what makes this hotel rock. My hats off to Ciara for fantastic service. Ciarau will go far with your people skills and work ethic. See you guys next year, we have found the hotel to stay in on our annaul trip to San Diego.

Wayne

Room Tip: Stay in Bay view deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montebello, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Dana was the perfect place for us to celebrate. Since I LOVE the water the location is perfect. Our view and the amenities at the Dana were great. We took advantage of the heated pools, great food and fantastic service. I am pretty sure we will be back again and again. If you are looking for a great escape from the craziness of daily grinds The Dana is the perfect place to unwind, relax, enjoy mother natures perfect views from a great room at a great place.

Room Tip: The premium rooms on the water are perfect, no noise, beautiful view and right next to a pool. Foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights at The Dana in October 2012. We found the resort to be beautifully landscaped (prime wedding setting), the rooms clean, the pool sparkling and the employees friendly. The quiet nature of the area was perfect for relaxing. We will definitely stay here again. Getting to the the Interstates was easy as well as Sunset Beach, OP, PB and areas north of San Diego.

Room Tip: There is a wide variety of rooms available -on the pool, on the Bay, upstairs, etc. Check the web si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay

Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#45 Family Hotel in San Diego
#72 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dana on Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.