We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay

Save Saved
You added The Dana on Mission Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Arlington, TX
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great location, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at The Dana almost a week. We took the advice of other reviews and paid extra to stay in the remodeled section. We were on the 2nd floor with a private balcony overlooking the harbor. Great view! Rooms have marble counters, a small frig, microwave, wet bar, a safe and a single serve coffee maker. We asked for only regular coffee by the 2nd day and were promptly accommodated. The beds were a little too firm for my liking but the rest of my family thought they were fine. The location is convenient to the highways and very close to Sea World. They have a complimentary shuttle to and from Sea World. It was nice, you can see the nightly Sea World fireworks from the hotel. Two swimming pools. Every night they show " Dive in" movies at one of the pools - G or PG films appropriate for kids ie: UP!, High School Musical, Cars etc.

The staff are friendly and attentive. The property was well kept - nice sculptures in the front. There's a walking path around most of the property so bring your running gear. They also have equipment rentals on property - bikes, kayaks etc. There is a nightly parking charge of $18/ day but we received a 50% discount on parking since we were staying so long. We really enjoyed our time there. If we go back to San Diego, we would stay there again - definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for the newer addition!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    592
    437
    162
    111
    67
See reviews for
557
349
42
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Let me start of by saying, The Dana is in a fantastic location, the rooms were great and the prices, while on the higher side, were okay, especially for the area. UNFORTUNATELY, 5 months after staying at The Dana I noticed a charge for $122 and change on my credit card...except, the night that charge was made, we were in an entirely different state!! Thinking it was just an error, I called the Dana and asked what this precise amount may be for...they informed me that was the charge for one night, inc. tax and fees. I explained that I visited their establishment for 5 nights earlier in the year but that we were not there on the night in question. The clerk was argumentative and stated I would have to speak with the accountant/manager in the morning. (I called on a weeknight.)

Although it was a relatively small amount, I called my credit card and they immediately transferred me to the security/fraud department. We put an alert on my card, and I started the process to officially report this. Let me say, this is a very inconvenient process to the consumer, but, as I was angry to think that such a well-known and "classy" hotel as The Dana did this, I went forward.

Over the next several days, I was contacted by the credit security department, at one time being asked if I would be willing to prosecute. They further explained that they had investigated other complaints from this hotel, and indicated that this may be a larger problem than just my piddly $122.....what a disappointment.

Lesson learned--I now have a "travel debit card" with the Visa symbol, on which I pre-load a certain amount of $$ for each trip. This not only keeps me on a budget but ensures no additional $$ can be stolen at a later date from felonious clerks!

Buyer Beware!

Room Tip: Be careful who you leave you credit card info with--even the nicest hotels hire criminals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband got us a nights stay for our anniversary at the Dana. He said the pictures looked really nice and was excited that he had found what seemed like a fun place to stay on the water. We were fairly disappointed when we arrived. We paid close to $300 dollars for 1 night and the place seemed a step up from a motel stay. The location was great...right on the water and we did have close accessablilty to the rentals for the water. The linens were nice, the paint was nice as well as the furniture. They had brand new Kureg coffee makers although we don't drink coffee. Other than that, the place seemed run down on the outside. The rooms were small, the air conditioning units were in each room and you could see light coming in from around the unit. The TV had terrible reception. The walk way on the second level which is where our room was had places that felt as though you might fall through to the floor below. Won't be back to visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed there with friends for Comic Con. Nice area. You're very close to Sea World, walking distance from Mission Beach and the ocean, along with restaurants and a small amusement park including an awesome roller coaster built in 1925.

The rooms were comfy and had a fridge and flat screen TV (though no HD or on screen guide). You can take taxis into the city but if you stay out here I'd recommend a car. My friends took their rental car on one day and my cab into the city was so expensive, I stopped it the moment we got in, then walked the ten blocks to my destination.

Breakfast was good if you pay for it. I spent less than $10 and had waffles, bacon, and juice. Pool looked nice but never used it. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel was perfect for our family vacation with two little kids. We had a suite in the newer building with great views and plently of space. The pools were nice and never too crowded. perfect location and close to everything. We were able to sit in the grass outside our room and watch the fireworks from Sea World. We will stay here next time we are in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel was located in a beautiful, quiet area. No need for a car, with a bus stop right outside of the property. Actually you were in walking distance from Belmont Park and Sea World. The grounds were beautiful, lush, quiet, and relaxing. Our room was great. Great views, great bed, and a beautiful bathroom. We were there for 5 nights and 6 days. The shuttle was quick to pick us up form the airport, we waited maybe 5 minutes. We got rained in one day and I have to say that getting to sit on the balcony, watch the rain and just relax in our beautiful spacious room was wonderful as well.

Room Tip: Stayed in the new addition. Beautiful, with a bit of history built right in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Good rooms and location, especially if you want to go to Sea World. The pools are nice and in the summer you can see the fireworks from Sea World. It is a little pricy compared to other hotels, but itis a good location for sea world, and old town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay

Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#45 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dana on Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.