We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait to Go Back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Dana on Mission Bay to your Saves list
The Dana on Mission Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Go Back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

So many good things to stay I don't know where to start. We were in San Diego for my daughter's graduation from SDSU. We booked 6 rooms for all of our family from the Boston, Mass area and couldn't have been happier with any of the rooms. They were all lovely and in different buildings on the grounds, each room had a spectacular view. The staff without exception was friendly and genuinely made us feel that they were happy we had arrived. Each day we had amazing breakfasts at the Blue Pearl restaurant right on the grounds and finished our busy days with a night cap at the Firefly by the pool. Our stays ranged from 2 nights to our stay of 6 nights and I could have stayed longer.

Very convenient for shuttling our guests to and from the airport, we even took advantage of the low cost airport shuttle for one group. My daughter will be staying in the area for her new job and I will be visiting her often and booking my stays at the Dana for sure!

Room Tip: We had heard that the newer section was the way to go and booked our room there and had a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    453
    173
    111
    66
See reviews for
597
371
44
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hicksville, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Hotel was clean, restaurants were great. Pool was beautiful and great location

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just got back from a 3 night/4 day stay at the Dana and it was great! My husband and I traveled with our 1 y.o. and 3 y.o. boys and we all had a wonderful time. We stayed in a 2 room suite, after a reasonably priced upgrade, and we were pleased.We stayed in a corner suite, room 2300 (3rd floor), with a large balcony and view of the Bay. My boys loved waking up watching the the boats come and go and the relaxing scenery of Mission Bay. The rooms are kept very clean, the beds are comfortable (although the pillows are little too soft for me), and the staff is very friendly.

Firefly was our favorite restaurant on site, the food was delicious and the restaurant staff was friendly and attentive; it's definitely a little pricier, but we were looking for a few nice meals while on vacation. The other restaurant, I forget the name, the food was decent but they took 55 minutes to get our dinner: UNACCEPTABLE!

We were able to buy bus/trolley passes from the hotel lobby for $5, catch the bus/trolley to the San Diego Convention Center very easily.

The pool is nice in warm, which was nice for us since the temperatures during our stay varied between 60-70 degrees. My son wanted to swim every night!

We walked to Sea World each day, only took about 15 minutes (it's really close!). Our kids rise early and we didn't want to wait for the free shuttle, which starts running at 9:45 (Sea World officially opens at 10am, but lines for shows and attractions start forming earlier).

Loved, loved, loved the fact that Einstein's bagels was just across the street. We ate there each morning.

CON:
1. The Shuttle to/from the Airport stops running at 8pm. Not sure this is advertised. Our flight arrived after 8pm and we found out the hard way. We ended up paying about $35 (including tip) for a taxi ride to the hotel.

I would definitely stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Dana is a lovely hotel situated on Mission Bay. The rooms are spacious, clean and up-to-date. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We had a lovely view of the garden area. We stayed 2 nights and both evenings found ourselves enjoying Happy Hour on the outside patio near the harbor - a beautiful view! Our only "complaint" was that housekeeping was way too efficient! They tried to clean our rooms before 9 each morning. If you are a late riser, remember to put out the "do not disturb" sign. Highly recommend this hotel for any occasion.

Room Tip: The standard rooms (without views) seem larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Dana is a very nice facility that is well maintained. The grounds are lovely, nice pool area and very convenient location. Our room was upgraded to a suite (#2320) and it was quite nice with a large patio and view of the Marina.

Room Tip: The Marina view rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The decision to make in San Diego is a hotel, or a resort. For a three day visit to my daughter, I chose a resort and am glad I did. The Dana turned out to be a reasonably priced, well run resort on a very nice peice of property. There are two types of rooms - the old two story buildings, and the more modern mini tower. We stayed in one of the older buildings, and the accomodation was merely adequate. The room was small (though two queen beds) and the appointments were moderate. Very clean however. The pool area was beautiful and well maintained, overlooking the bay. Also a large marina with water sport rentals. Overall I would again, though I would request the new building.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel offers a decent price for the area. However, they seem to add in a lot of hidden fees and if you do not get a newer room you will be disappointed. They have 2 decent sized pools and hot tubs that were always filled with young families. We were lucky to get a newer room which was clean and large. There is a parking fee, but if you complain they will either take it off completely or drop it in half.

I did not feel that this hotel had my best interest in mind. They did not go over and beyond. If you ask for the better room and ask to have the parking fees removed they are more than willing to help you, but YOU MUST ASK.

I think it is worth paying a little bit more money and staying at the Paradise Point Hotel which is also located in Mission Bay.

Room Tip: Avoid the 900 building, it has not yet been renovated as of 3/2012.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay

Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#45 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dana on Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.