We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshingly Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay

Save Saved
You added The Dana on Mission Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #97 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Joshua Tree, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Refreshingly Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

What a treat. I have always been one to get a room for a place to sleep and nothing more; my husband decided to treat me to something so much more, and our stay at The Dana was just that. We stayed in a fabulous room with a view of the bay. There was a patio with lounge chairs as well as a table and chairs to enjoy a bit of room service with an amazing view of the water.
We were on the bottom floor so we were able to exit from the patio and walk around the corner to the heated salt water pool and the nicely oversize jacuzzi, which also had a beautiful view of the bay. The room has pool towels as well as spa robes for the guests to enjoy, not to mention the bathroom amenities are Bee Kind...perfect. The big plush towels, the beautiful room, the fabulous view, were trumped by the incredible bed...The pillows are a little too plush for me, yet other then that, this place is PERFECT. I look forward to returning for another stay, and soon.
Whatever you do, make sure you get a room with a view, it really does make ALL the difference. This is a fabulous place to stay for the honeymooners, Couples needing a retreat or families...ALL will find a reason to love the Dana, in my opinion, that is.
Thanks for the wonderful stay, we will see you again.

Room Tip: Do not settle for a standard room, it is well worth a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    590
    435
    164
    109
    65
See reviews for
578
351
42
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We loved the Dana. Great views of Mission Bay,easy to get around S.D.,the pool was nice and warm great for swimming on a cool day.We will be going back sometime soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I went to The Dana for a business trip that happened to take place on my 20th wedding anniversary. The sales staff we worked with were very professional and accommodating. They even sent a cookie tray to my room and a card wishing me a happy anniversary. The hotel is in a beautiful location and the on sight restaurants are top notch.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view of the bay are beautiful as is the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Dana is the only palce we stay in San Diego after trying many other locations over the years. It is close to everything.
The service is always prompt and courteous starting with the check in and all the way through the check out. You can't beat the view from the Bay rooms and from the pool and Firefly cafe.
The food is always great as well.
You will never stay anywhere else after one visit, I guarantee it.

Room Tip: We always select a Bay View room for the view, but the other rooms are a great value as well. We do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Exellent location for Sea World. Nice pools. Clean and professional. One minor problem: I reserved the hotel months in advance, checked inn late but the key was not ready and it took to long to get us into the room after a long day at Sea World.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed 4 nights with the Marina View. The property is conveniently located to Sea World and offers a shuttle service which we used for one of our days. We enjoyed the hotel which offers 2 large swimming pools and hot tubs. If you like walking, there is a nice walk along Mission Bay. There are bike rentals by the Hotel if riding a bike is your enjoyment. You are not far from the beach and can ride a bike to and from the beach. Had I known, you can also fish off one of the piers. Not sure what one of the guests was catching, but they were releasing the fish and feeding a sea lion close by. The rooms were nice and comfortable. The desk staff was polite and helpful with ideas of what to see and do. We purchased our Seaworld and San Diego Safari tickets at the front desk. All around a great location with a view of the harbor and bay and attractive grounds. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We had always stayed on Coronado Island when we were in San Diego, but this time we needed to be in town. On a recommendation from USD, we tried The Dana and were totally charmed. We stayed in a ground floor bay view room with a nice patio and a gate that exited right out onto the park for easy access to a path for walking and jogging. The room was large with 2 queen beds, small pullout sofa, microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, safe, and free wifi. We ate dinner on the patio at the Firefly restaurant and the crispy pork belly sandwich was delicious, so we went back and had it again the second night! The Blue Pearl for breakfast was a pleasant space with acceptable food. Staff was pleasant and helpful and the grounds were beautifully landscaped.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building closest to the Firefly Restaurant seem to be the newest. Those on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay

Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dana on Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.