We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first visit to the Dana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Dana on Mission Bay to your Saves list
The Dana on Mission Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Billings, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great first visit to the Dana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We were attending the wedding of a friend's daughter at the Dana, and stayed a total of four nights. The rooms were clean. comfortable, and appealing in our building (one of the older ones). The beds are a delight, with comforters and plenty of fluffy pillows. Our room was also very quiet, despite being in the middle of the building.

Although we didn't have a great view, we found the room's central location very convenient in meeting and keeping up with friends staying in the other buildings. All the rooms have a small fridge and microwave, a nod to the lack of breakfast restaurants (besides the Blue Pearl) nearby.

The location of the hotel itself is convenient to lots of local attractions. There are rentals for bikes for the bay trail and all kinds of watercraft. The hotel's lush landscaping and low profile (no higher than 3 stories) gives it a more deluxe, private feel than I was expecting. The Blue Pearl is a good casual restaurant, and the food and drinks at the Firefly were delicious.

The hotel staff were marvelously helpful and friendly at all times, whether it was talking to a housekeeper about our room, arranging for a late check-out, or dealing with some detail of the wedding reception in the ballroom. I was very impressed with the hotel on that basis alone.

I am trying to figure out when I can go the Dana for another delightful stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    459
    181
    112
    67
See reviews for
607
379
45
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 via mobile

Stayed there to escape Arizona heat last two summers. The bay view rooms are awesome. Very pleased with the service and cleanliness. Could not be better unless it was right on the beach, but being right on the bay was great. A special thank you to Jennifer K. Plan to return every summer.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We very much enjoyed The Dana. Our double-Queen room was spacious enough for two adults and two kids. The free shuttle to Sea World was a fantastic bonus. The front desk staff was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, and the grounds are beautifully maintained. The food at the on-site Blue Pearl restaurant was tasty and reasonably priced (especially considering it is a hotel restaurant, which tend to be over-priced), the food arrived quickly--always a plus when travelling with kids--and the service was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Great location, beautiful view of the water, access to boats and kayaks and a very nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbay-cali
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed here 7 nights with my girlfriend and her son(age 12) and another couple and their 2 kids(2-6) Everyone loved it! Our first night we had a courtyard level room and the courtyard by the tropical pool is beautiful, but it was a tad too small for the 3 of us for a week, plus we could hear the people above us stomping around. Usually I can tolerate occasional noise, but these rooms have older AC units and the combo of the foot stompers and loud AC was enough to change rooms. The next day we went to the front desk and they moved us to the newer section, which is made of concrete and quieter. We paid $40 a night for the upgrade, but the room was larger, with a view of the bay and worth the extra $$! By the way, the front desk crew was very nice and accomodating to us our whole stay.

We ate breakfast at the Blue Pearl a few times and it was pretty descent. Lunch was ok.
We had 3 meals at the Firefly and they were excellent. We were very happy with the quality of the food and service!

The pools are nice(towels provided in the room), with wait service at the pool by the firefly and a cabana-type bar at the tropical pool.
San Diego has so much to offer, but you can easily stay at this hotel and not leave(as long as you're willing to run a tab)
Since there's a marina behind the Dana, you can rent jet skis, paddle boats, pontoon and ski boats, etc.

I'd recomend this hotel for families, friends,and couples old and young. The staff is friendly, food good, rooms are nice, and you can't beat the location to Sea World, the beach ,downtown and the airport.

Room Tip: Choose the newer section with the Bay View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

False advertisement. It's the Lobby and entrance that is modern and clean looking. The rooms are old and stinky and small. The restaurant is like a coffee shop nothing special. The service was off and on. The price didn't match what you got. They offer a free shuttle for Sea World but not very many time slots. This was the main reason we chose this place other than what we saw in pictures and what people had to say about it.

We frequent San Diego every couple of months and stay for a long or short weekend. This place needs a makeover in a BIG way!!

Room Tip: I'm not sure you can get a less noiser room. the windows open and the parking is on both sides o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

My husband and I were taking a much needed vacation in San Diego. We wanted something fun but relaxing in a beautiful location. The Dana Hotel is all of those things and MORE!
First off, you just cannot beat the location. It is set on beautiful Mission Bay and our room overlooked the bay full of jet skiers, kayakers and boaters. We rented bikes and took a short trip to the Boardwalk which is full of fun nightlife and cool restaurants. Also, the hotel property is full of luscious trees and flower beds with two pools. The one pool we went to was rather large and had cabana shade you could sit under for no extra charge. It is a great place to take a nap or read a book. The other pool we never made it but it is located next to a beautiful garden and had a sandbox for kids to play in. It also had a snack bar that serves drinks :) There were two days that we didn't even leave the property. We just hung out at the pool and ate at the hotel.

Second, the rooms are beautiful. The beds are comfortable and the decor is relaxing. Water in the shower stays warm and the shower head gives a strong flow. (with curly hair this is a must :) ) The housekeeping staff keeps the room super clean and restocks all towels and robes quickly.

The last and rather important aspect is the wonderful restaurants and staff at the Dana. We loved breakfast at the Blue Pearl which has really reasonable prices and AMAZING eggs benedict! We also loved the Firefly because not only does it serve the BEST creme brulee ever the staff is so friendly. My husband and I would get drinks there and chit chat with the wonderful ladies behind the bar.

Basically, when I go back to San Diego, I know I will be staying at the Dana and I know we will have an incredible experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay

Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#47 Family Hotel in San Diego
#72 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dana on Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.