We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel. Will be back for sure!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Dana on Mission Bay to your Saves list
The Dana on Mission Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Saskatchewan
1 review
“great hotel. Will be back for sure!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

My husband and teen daughter and I recently spent 3 nights at the Dana in San Diego. Our room was in the watertower building. The hotel room was just as nice as the internet picure if not nicer. The room was extremely clean and very modern and functional. We loved the balcony overlooking Mission Bay. The beds were very comfortable with nice bedding. The front desk service was very efficient and friendly. The maid service was also very effecient. The shuttle service to Sea World and to and from Amtrak was very prompt. The drivers were both very friendly and helpful. We will definately be back to stay at this wonderful hotel when in San Diego

Room Tip: Water tower rooms were quiet and had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    514
    217
    122
    71
See reviews for
707
426
51
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed here thursday-sat! Our reason for coming to this hotel was to be close to Sea World. This hotel had a great deal on rates during this time too! We could literally walk out of our door and see the water/docks/bay! There is a walking trail that takes you all along the bay-gorgeous view!
You can also walk to a beach area with sand that is 3/4 of a mile from the hotel. Just up over the bridge. It's an easy drive with great free parking too though! No waves-perfect for babies/toddlers!
The Dana offers a shuttle to Sea World which was a huge plus for us. We took the 9:45am shuttle and they arrived right on time. The driver even took all the strollers and folded them down for everyone and packed them in the back-no fuss or stress for families with toddlers/kids!
We took the 3:45pm shuttle back and again it arrived right on time! The staff is so friendly and nice!
Pools are both heated and one has 3 cabana's to lounge in! Tons of seating!
The only negative was the service at FireFly Resturant. They sat us but never came back for drink or food order! After 15 minutes we finally got up and left. I told the hostess that we were leaving and why and she was very snippy! Didn't like that! Their food looked great though! So we went to the other resturant on site! It was very quiet (kind of stressful when you have a toddler) but the food was good. Many families inside eating too!
Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Cheapest rate was on The Dana website itself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

The Dana is exceptional in that it is an enclave within the city. You have quick access to downtown and Rt#5. The property is located on the bay affording great views and plenty of space for leisurely walks. Feels like a resort. The three breakfasts at the Blue Pearl were excellent. The Dana is a much more preferable alternative to the chain hotels boxed in along the interstates. Also, they are green oriented - important to us.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

The location is great if you're going to Sea World, and the kids enjoyed the heated pool, while I enjoyed the bay view. My main complaint is the $18 parking, and there is no other place to park, and my room. I had a park view suite, which gave me a lovely view of the homeless guys who live in the park. With two small children and my husband not with us on this trip, I did not feel comfortable leaving the shutters open that faced the park and that was huge sliding glass doors that opened onto a balcony that was in the park. The service in the restaurants was great, but the food was just ok. Would I go back? Probably not, for the price I am sure you could eat better and have a better view.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed at the Dana on our recent trip to San Diego with our daughter and her husband and 10 year old twin girls. All of us loved our experience at the Dana - we stayed in the rooms that view Mission Bay. The kids loved the swimming pool and the table tennis. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was good and the location was ideal.
There is a higher end restaurant at the hotel and although we didn't dine there it looked like a nice place to eat. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we plan on going back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room with views of Mission Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

What a wonderful place! I recently stayed at the Dana with 2 teenagers during a trip to visit colleges. From our room, we had beatutiful views of the bay with close proximity to the fabulous pool and hot tub. The hotel is in centrally located--minutes to all the main attractions, universities, airport and downtowm. Not to mention, a short bike ride to the beach. Teenagers are often tough to please but they loved it.

The hidden gem of the Dana is the incredibly accomodating front desk and restaurant staff. The food at the FireFly was some of the best we enjoyed in San Diego. Don't miss the opportunity to enjoy fabulous sea bass underneath the stars. Not to mention the great breakfast at the Blue Pearl. The accomodating staff make sure you are well cared for!

We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

I came here with my daughter, who is interested in attending the University of San Diego. The staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful, the room was nicely furnished, the TV was large, and the granite countertop in the bathroom was very attractive. The furnished amenities were nice and, apart from a burned out light in the bathroom, everything worked. The food in the Blue Pearl Restaurant was fine, but nothing to write home about. So why wouldn't I stay here again? In a word, the NOISE. Our room faced the street, and the noise from cars going by all night long, plus the clanking of the security bar to enter the parking lot every time someone came in or out made for a terrible night's sleep. Just as a side note, it's not evident from the hotel's website, but all the rooms have exterior doors, making this more a motel than a hotel. Also, the hotel provides free wireless internet, but it may not be available to everyone all the time. Our room was at the edge of the property and we sometimes had trouble getting online due to a very weak signal. The help desk tried, but couldn't solve my problem.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#163 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,906 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#53 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Hotel
#113 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Mission Beach
Bahia Resort Hotel
Bahia Resort Hotel
#37 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 2,544 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Sea World
#140 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay

Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#45 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dana on Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.