We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Clean Large Rooms, Centrally Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sea World

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Sea World to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sea World
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3950 Jupiter St., San Diego, CA 92110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #100 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Service, Clean Large Rooms, Centrally Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was our first time to stay at a HIE. We've always stayed at other, bigger brand name hotels, but we wanted to see if we'd like HIE. We actually enjoyed staying at this particular HIE! Staying there during the holidays, the rates were very reasonable. Our rooms were upgraded when we checked in, and we stayed in a large double queen bedroom. We were impressed with the size and overall cleanliness of our room. Beds were very comfy, and we had many pillows. Bathrooms were good sized and again, very clean and well-stocked. The toiletries were nice and did not seem cheap (citrus smelling). There were even a couple of free water bottles in our room. Breakfast was good and plentiful. All the staff we had contact with were very helpful and kind and nice, including the Manager and Luz, from the front desk. First time visitors in the area would probably have a little problem finding the hotel since it was tucked a little away from main streets. Once you become familiar with the area, you'll find out that the location is very good - just minutes away from most visited tourist spots in San Diego. Very close to the freeway, but not noisy (to us). We'll definitely be staying here again whenever we visit San Diego, and we very highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    75
    18
    12
    10
See reviews for
73
20
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Voorhees, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights recently on points. I am IHG Plat. member and got an excellent bargain on points stay with 75% off during one of the IHG flash sale. My stay was excellent except there was some noise during the morning hours (mostly traffic). I stayed at third floor facing the side street. Breakfast was standard HIX offering.

Being closed to the airport and major attractions is a big plus. Airport was 15 minutes drive, even during the day and La Jolla (my favorite spot in SD) is not too far. I was able to drive there in less than 30 minutes even during the evening rush hours.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sea World, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear nadir_ali,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I'm truly delighted you liked your room accommodation. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the noise had caused you. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Thank you again for your comments, and continued loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club Platinum Elite member.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it was so close to everything we wanted to visit. We were playing tour guide to a friend of ours from Germany who had never been to San Diego. We were very close to Seaport Village, Old Town, the beach and then when we checked out, we just drove up Mission Bay Drive and headed towards La Jolla.
Hotel room was nice and clean. The only bad thing I would have to say is the view out the window has a lot to be desired. UGH!! But I wasn't there to look out the window. Breakfast was not bad. Enough to satisfy your stomach and save from going out to eat for breakfast which can be pretty expensive. Staff was very friendly!

Room Tip: If you are a Priority member, you'll be put on the third floor which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Luz was the person I spoke with most of the time throughout my stay and she was a pleasure! She was funny, informative and had a very positive attitude. The rest of the staff was sociable and kind. If you have to sleep during the day request a room on the opposite end of the doggy day care across the street because you hear a bit of barking when you don't have the tv on, but I didn't mind it one bit! LOVE!!! Would 100% recommend and return.
The bus stops across the street were also very convenient. (15 minutes to Ocean Beach!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed for a week. Cannot complain about anything here. Rooms were clean, breakfast included (can't go wrong with bagels!!!) In a great location, close to all restaraunts in the area (especially Phill's BBQ!!!) and not too far from Sea World. Friendly staff, reliable WiFi and decent hidden parking. Pretty good deal since we were travelling on a budget all the way from Australia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this Holiday Inn Express exclusively because it was close to Seaworld and In-N-Burger. The staff was quite friendly even when we checked late and were tired and short. The room was nice, clean and the beds were comfortable. This hotel is tucked away and would be difficult to find without GPS. Internet, breakfast and parking were free. My only gripe is the parking garage. It is waaaayyy too small and is located under the hotel. Because it is under the hotel there are pillars to support the hotel that seem to crowd every 2nd or 3rd parking space. The spaces are small as well so if you arrive late then is no room to park because all the good spaces are occupied and the empty ones are way to difficulty to navigate due to the pillars. The garage was 50% full and still no way to park. Don't even think about parking your Cadillac or full size pickup here unless you park early and take up 2 spaces. Overall a good hotel with nice amenities but bring your Fiat or SmartCar!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Nice Staff, clean rooms, large well lighted bathroom.
The only problem was the parking. The parking spaces are small (not too small) but many guests don't bother to park in the lines and end up taking 2 spaces. Very frustrating when you pull in, there is no parking because 10 spots are lost to inconsiderate guests.
The staff should better control the parking (there is outside security), each car has a parking permit, the guests should be contacted to park correctly.

Room Tip: If you can get a room away from the freeway, do it. The freeway side rooms are not too loud but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sea World, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Matt T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the inconvenience the parking may have caused you. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sea World

Address: 3950 Jupiter St., San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sea World 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is conveniently located only minutes away from the San Diego Zoo, San Diego SeaWorld, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront.The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld is also only a few minutes drive from the San Diego Airport, and close to many local companies like Lockheed Martin, CSC, SAIC, CACI, EDS, and SPAWAR. Hotel features include complimentary hot full breakfast buffet, free local phone calls, and free high-speed wireless Internet. Visit beautiful San Diego and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego-SeaWorld Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sea World Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Sea World
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Sea World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.