We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sea World

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Sea World to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Sea World
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3950 Jupiter St., San Diego, CA 92110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #135 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Nice hotel in decent area, free parking, continental breakfast (didn't try), free wi-fi. Room and bathrooms and lobby very clean. Easy access to freeway, was in town for golf and Charger game, overall good experience. Would recommend for $100.00 stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    92
    21
    15
    12
See reviews for
90
27
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hotel is very clean. Friendly staff. They also have decent breakfast. As the name suggests, the hotel is close to Sea World and Old Town San Diego (must visit by the way). The rates are reasonable.
Just be careful backing out your car in the parking lot. The parking spaces are very tight since it is a small lot. When I backed out, my side mirrors hit a post and broke. It was my fault, but luckily I had LDW coverage :).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales,UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stopped at this hotel for two nights to visit the Zoo and Sea World. We had a wonderful room, very clean and tidy. The staff were very helpful. Yes you may have trouble parking your car, we didn't during our time at the hotel. The fresh cookies in the afternoon were a nice touch, much appreciated by our 15 year old son. Breakfast was busy, but it is the nearest hotel to Sea World so you should expect that. A few restaurants nearby, we had a nice stoll down to Chilli's, many shops around the same area. A great hotel for a visit to Sea World.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was at this hotel for business, but it is by far the closest to Seaworld. The rooms were very clean and large. I would suggest asking for a room on the East side of the property if you are a terribly light sleeper. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, especially when I had several deliveries from Fedex that took up a lot of room in their storage area. Definitely on my list for the next time I come thru town.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the east side, they are very helpful and accommodating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burgh757@verizon.net
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Although there are short comings to this hotel (parking, pool), the location, cleanliness and staff make up for any problems. They are very nice to the children and offer assistance and advice about local attractions. There is a feeling of safety and the fresh cookies daily are a nice touch.

Room Tip: Not on freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Requested 2 beds for our family got 1 bed they did change us for the 2nd night but what a pain breakfast was poor watched the lady working breakfast clean the counters then without washing hands poor cereal into the serving containers and touch it with bare hands to push it down so would shut then did a second bag of a different cereal took bag to trash and pushed it into trash then again touched the cereal with bare hands

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sea World, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear ktaggie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel room was very nice and the location is fantastic! However, parking consists of a small underground lot that was hard to maneuver in our van. We ended up parking on the street each night. The pool is about the size of a large jacuzzi so we skipped going for a swim after we looked at it. The breakfast is in a little nook off of the lobby with no room to get to the food and very few tables. Since this hotel is right across the freeway from Seaworld it is packed with families so getting breakfast was a monumental chore. Also, the soundproofing is not that great. We could continually hear the family next to us running around and slamming their door. With all of the families, there were also a lot of noisy people in the hall. Some even stood outside our room having a conversation!

If you can overlook all of that, the hotel is about 10 minutes from Old Town and even closer to Seaworld. The room was very nice and internet service was good. Be aware when you get off the freeway to go to the hotel you cannot turn left onto the road that goes to the hotel. You will need to go to the light, make a left, go down a ways and turn around and come back.

Room Tip: If you are on backside of the hotel you can see the fireworks from Seaworld.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sea World, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Dragon28,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#83 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sea World

Address: 3950 Jupiter St., San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sea World 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is conveniently located only minutes away from the San Diego Zoo, San Diego SeaWorld, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront.The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld is also only a few minutes drive from the San Diego Airport, and close to many local companies like Lockheed Martin, CSC, SAIC, CACI, EDS, and SPAWAR. Hotel features include complimentary hot full breakfast buffet, free local phone calls, and free high-speed wireless Internet. Visit beautiful San Diego and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego-SeaWorld Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sea World Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Sea World
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Sea World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.