We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access to freeways and Seaworld” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sea World

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Sea World to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Sea World
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3950 Jupiter St., San Diego, CA 92110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #134 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Easy access to freeways and Seaworld”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was at this hotel for business, but it is by far the closest to Seaworld. The rooms were very clean and large. I would suggest asking for a room on the East side of the property if you are a terribly light sleeper. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, especially when I had several deliveries from Fedex that took up a lot of room in their storage area. Definitely on my list for the next time I come thru town.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the east side, they are very helpful and accommodating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    79
    18
    12
    12
See reviews for
77
23
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
burgh757@verizon.net
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Although there are short comings to this hotel (parking, pool), the location, cleanliness and staff make up for any problems. They are very nice to the children and offer assistance and advice about local attractions. There is a feeling of safety and the fresh cookies daily are a nice touch.

Room Tip: Not on freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Requested 2 beds for our family got 1 bed they did change us for the 2nd night but what a pain breakfast was poor watched the lady working breakfast clean the counters then without washing hands poor cereal into the serving containers and touch it with bare hands to push it down so would shut then did a second bag of a different cereal took bag to trash and pushed it into trash then again touched the cereal with bare hands

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sea World, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear ktaggie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel room was very nice and the location is fantastic! However, parking consists of a small underground lot that was hard to maneuver in our van. We ended up parking on the street each night. The pool is about the size of a large jacuzzi so we skipped going for a swim after we looked at it. The breakfast is in a little nook off of the lobby with no room to get to the food and very few tables. Since this hotel is right across the freeway from Seaworld it is packed with families so getting breakfast was a monumental chore. Also, the soundproofing is not that great. We could continually hear the family next to us running around and slamming their door. With all of the families, there were also a lot of noisy people in the hall. Some even stood outside our room having a conversation!

If you can overlook all of that, the hotel is about 10 minutes from Old Town and even closer to Seaworld. The room was very nice and internet service was good. Be aware when you get off the freeway to go to the hotel you cannot turn left onto the road that goes to the hotel. You will need to go to the light, make a left, go down a ways and turn around and come back.

Room Tip: If you are on backside of the hotel you can see the fireworks from Seaworld.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sea World, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Dragon28,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We went to Sea World for Spring Break, great location! I ALWAYS take clorox wipes with us when we travel. Our hotel room was SPOTLESS! The staff and management were very friendly and helpful. Thank you Holiday Inn Express!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Security harassed us the whole night and watched my wife undress I told management they did nothing.... Also the view was of a junk yard this has been the worst experience I have ever had I recommend the wyndam

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sea World, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Dear tj82campbell,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. The comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to San Diego, CA.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

hotel is nice/clean and staff is very nice. The major issue is the location and parking lot.
I had to cut my seaworld night short being worried that I may not find parking. You can't even get your car out easily due the small spaces. I expected more for a ~$150per night. Who ever designed the hotel didn't think about the location/parking lot. I also had hard time finding the hotel due to its location; the street sign was even smaller than the store next to it. I would really recommend that management get a bigger sign and think about how to provide at least one parking spot per room!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHG Care at Holiday Inn Express Sea World, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear M J,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that our staff was helpful during your stay. I am deeply sorry that we were not able to accommodate your parking needs. Your suggestion about larger signage has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sea World

Address: 3950 Jupiter St., San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sea World 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is conveniently located only minutes away from the San Diego Zoo, San Diego SeaWorld, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront.The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld is also only a few minutes drive from the San Diego Airport, and close to many local companies like Lockheed Martin, CSC, SAIC, CACI, EDS, and SPAWAR. Hotel features include complimentary hot full breakfast buffet, free local phone calls, and free high-speed wireless Internet. Visit beautiful San Diego and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego-SeaWorld Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sea World Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Sea World
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Sea World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.