We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough around the Edges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3737 Sports Arena Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Mission Plaza Hotel & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #196 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Mountain View, California
1 review
“Rough around the Edges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Staff were polite, professional, and thorough. The facilities could use a freshening up though. The elevator made such alarming sounds that my daughter refused to ride. The AirCon was underpowered and took several hours to cool down the room. The stairs, 2nd and 3rd level outside walkways were in dire need of cleaning. A bright spot is the neighboring Du-Par cafe, which served delicious breakfast despite slow service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    376
    427
    276
    182
See reviews for
913
209
47
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury Park, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Room was dirty, carpet was the stained and gross. After walking on the carpet for 5 min. feet were black. Spider webs in lights. Staff was friendly. Would not stay there again. Would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: wifi was slow if you could pick it up. Would never go back to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I travelled to San Diego for business in April 2014. From making the reservation to checking out, all staff were great to deal with & positive.
The hotel is very close to Sea World (perfect if your coming to San Diego to visit this theme park), Mission Beach & the restaurant scene in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street side as the hotel backs onto 2 streets, 1 of those streets being a mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel has great location for the airport, Sea World, restaurants and access to freeways. The exterior was freshly painted. The rooms were not new but clean. Staff was helpful and friendly. I asked for some extra chairs and they were brought promptly. We held our family reunion at the Wyndham Garden during the peak of the busy season. I was happy with the service. So was the rest of the family. I did not have any problem with noise from the neighbors. An added benefit was the fireworks show coming from Sea World.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our Football organization was visiting San Diego for a Tournament that was being played at several venues in the San Diego area. We contacted several hotels trying to look for the best available price. When we contacted this hotel and spoke to Richard, he and his staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. We let him know we were going to need 50 rooms for which they were very accomadating. As for the hotel from the price, to the staff, location and property it was perfect. The hotel is located in a central area with just about any restaraunt you can think of within walking distance, including Phils Bar B Que !!. All of our families were happy, and we will definitely be calling them next year when we go back to the tournament.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld

Address: 3737 Sports Arena Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Mission Plaza Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile to SeaWorld, the hotel is located just minutes from San Diego's best attractions including SeaWorld San Diego, Mission Bay, Old Town, Downtown, Gaslamp Quarter and the world famous San Diego Zoo. Mission Beach, one of San Diego's most popular beaches, is located two miles away, and Mission Valley and Fashion Valley Malls are both within three miles. Popular restaurants and shops are within walking distance of the hotel. This San Diego hotel has one bedroom Junior Suites that will give you and your family the comfort you desire while you enjoy your San Diego vacation. Has special Kids Mini Suites, with a custom-designed bedroom for kids separated from a bedroom area for parents, are perfect for families with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden San Diego Near Seaworld Hotel San Diego
Mission Plaza Hotel
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.