We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Shores Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Shores Inn to your Saves list
Pacific Shores Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4802 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Location location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Booked this hotel/motel based on location of the beach access. I knew it probably wouldn't be the Waldorf but was nicely surprised but what it had to offer. Clean room in an older building. VERY little parking but they give you a pass to make sure you have a spot. The continental breakfast is very basic but it's there. Walking distance to lots of eateries/beach. Was here in November but if I needed airconditioning I think we would have been out of luck. The unit looked a little older than I do. The bathroom was partially updated but the room still needs some help.

Room Tip: Request a room in the newer section away from Mission Blvd. The noise isn't a big deal but it co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Actually, you may have been surprised. The a/c units need replacement about every three to four years with the ocean air hitting them. But, we are very happy you decided to stay with us when you did. We hope you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    138
    74
    29
    21
See reviews for
119
105
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Internet misrepresents this inn, which is more of a motel. The greatest thing about Pacific Shores Inn is the location, our room was 99 steps to Pacific Beach, we counted! A few things made this place average on our stay-
1. The walk-in closet had a burned out light despite the two requests to replace it.
2. The maids seemed not interested in getting the room cleaned and disregarded the "maid service" sign on the door.
3. The parking was full nearly every night. We could park but not close to our room.

Overall, a good, inexpensive place to spend the weekend and walk to the beach and nearby restaurants on Mission.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
I would like to apologize for your light bulb. We do not have an excuse for this, and my maintenance staff will see your comments. Thank you. I think I will tell people about the 99 steps in the future! Thank you. We are always trying to improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at the Pacific Shores first week of November '13 ...appox. 6 mabybe 7 times now. Great rates (even in summer), the staff always ready to serve. Located next to the boardwalk ..you're at the north end of where most of the "action" is, yet removed from much of the noise.

Depending on the season and who you book with you'll pay between $65 - $230 ..a bargain when you see what the other places are charging and what you're getting for the cost.

When we're at the beach in San Deigo and not renting a house; it's the Pacific Shores.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you, and yes, we are very competitive with the local competition. And, if you are a return guest, the rates are almost always better depending on the time period you would like to stay with us. Thank you for your comments, and we look forward to your return with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at Pacific Shores in Nov. 2013. Yes, the location to the beach was great, within walking distance for sure, but there were things that did not meet our expectations or the advertised amenities. Listed was premium TV channels including HBO. According to the desk clerk, they have not had HBO for years. Continental breakfast was coffee, tea, juice and pastries. No fruit, no cereal, nothing else. Sorry but this does not constitute a continental breakfast. Wifi was not free but very pricey. I think you could find several hotels in this price range which would have better amenities. I tried to speak to the general manager but he was never available at this hotel. Also there is absolutely no counter space in the bathroom for any items you might need to use that you brought with. My partner and I were constantly juggling things around. The placement of the fridge and microwave was odd. They are in the closet right in the doorway. Perhaps an inferior decorator, tongue in cheek, is needed, Location was great as I said, but not much else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
I'm sorry you did not like our property. We are constantly trying to improve every aspect of the property, from the rooms to the service. The WiFI service was changed to a much less expensive company with great customer service in regards to support when and if needed. I do apologize if I wasn't available, which is strange when I work every day. I hope you will try us again. Just contact me directly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This place is great. close to the action but just far enough north that it's quiet. maybe 5-6 blocks from Garnet (3 min walk). 2 blocks from Bareback, thrashers and Duck Dive.
hotel stretches from Mission Blvd all the way back but not beach front. plenty of parking. free OJ and donuts in the morning. rooms are clean and simple. I stay here every time in PB, great place and can't beat the price. parking is a big deal in PB..especially if hotel doesn't guarantee a spot.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
That's a pretty good description of our location in regards to some of the local places to eat in PB. Of course, there are so many others. But, yes, parking in PB is very difficult during some time periods, so parking at the property and walking is usually the best way to patronize them. If not, you could find yourself further away than you would have been in the first place. I know, because I have tried to cheat the system myself before! Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The rooms were a good size and the beds were comfortable, but once you get outside it feels very cramped with cars everywhere (exhausts at your front door if you are downstairs). Very good location near the sea. The pool was supposedly heated - but it didn't feel like it. Wifi was not free - an anachronism these days. Hand rail in bathroom fell off during stay - seemed like a new bathroom but not great quality. There are car parking spaces marked out - but then you are told they don't actually mean anything anymore as they don't use them - confusing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Yes, the parking is very tight almost every day when we are full. But, normally, we do find room for every vehicle. As for the renovation. There are definitely a few things that could be changed, but as for overall quality, in my opinion, it is very surprising to see the room! If you can forget about the cars down the middle of property, the room represents a much different idea! Thank you for your comments! We hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

In a departure from my typical travel-with-wife world, I stayed here with a couple of friends and came away satisfied.

First and foremost, the price for a location that really is a couple minutes' walk to the ocean was tough to beat. For beach lovers, it's a walkable location, with plenty of great restaurants nearby as well as a selection of interesting shopping also within walking distance. For those with more touristy ambitions it's still well situated, a modest drive from San Diego's big attractions such as Sea World, the zoo as well as Downtown and Old Town.

The room we stayed in seemed to have been recently renovated and was generally quite nice. If I had to complain, I'd say we had a few flies and fruit flies in our room -- not a lot, but I think I swatted a couple of the little ones every day we were there. I suspect this isn't peculiar to the area as it's not the only place we encountered them.

Everyone I interacted with at the hotel was friendly -- my take on the service is that it was overall quite good. We did have an issue with towel replenishment, however. There were a couple of nights where we had to ask for them (we were told their washer was down) and they were provided without fuss.

WiFi came at an extra charge, so we didn't partake (seems unusual for a more motel-style property)... but free parking was a plus. I think we all occasionally picked at the free "breakfast" (aka - pastries and occasional muffins) over our stay, but with the excellent Kono's Surf Club Cafe nearby, we ate the majority of our morning meals there and skipped lunch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We are very happy that you were satisfied with your stay with us! But, the fly issue is not normal for us, and we were having trouble with all but one washer for about there weeks. We are sorry for that challenge. Everything is back to normal, and of course, that aspect of your stay would be even better than before. Thank you very much for your comments! And, we do recommend Kono's to so many guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Shores Inn

Address: 4802 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Shores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pacific Shores Inn is a quaint inn located at the north end of Pacific Beach. Many of the rooms offer some views of the ocean, and restaurants and shops are just a couple of blocks away. The boardwalk is a 2.5 mile stretch that will take you from the north end of Pacific Beach all the way to the south end of Mission Beach. As you stroll down the boardwalk, you will find ocean front shops and restaurants as well as the famous Belmont Park in Mission Beach. Bike, and surfboard rentals are located within two blocks so there is no reason to pack those items when visiting us. And, every room has a microwave oven, refrigerator, and a coffee maker for your convenience. Some rooms also have full kitchens for those who require that. Parking, and a continental breakfast which includes juice, coffee, and danish are always free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Shores Hotel San Diego
Pacific Shores San Diego
Pacific Shores Inn Of Pacific Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Shores Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.