We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low End Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bay Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Bay Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3325 Midway Drive, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Low End Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

After being told it is 5 minute WALK to the beach, WRONG. More like a 15 minute DRIVE. cancelled reservation as soon as I seen the place in person, DIRTY!!! Strippers are located right across the street, and quite frankly, there is nothing in the area for children. It was a pretty long drive to the beach as well.

Room Tip: Strippers right across the street, and NOTHING in distance for children
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    14
    11
    16
See reviews for
22
18
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Other reviews on this site put this hotel down unfairly!! i stayed here with my boyfriend for 6 nights, we choose it simply for the location as we wanted to go to Seaworld and the Zoo, it is a short bus ride from both
The rooms are clean and cleaned daily by housekeeping, there is a fridge and microwave provided which was really useful for us, nice working shower/bath and comfy beds, nothing to complain about! there is a small poo and a jacuzzi, its not big but its also not a big hotel so you usually have it to yourself! :)
Breakfast is basic, muffins and pasties, but its sufficient for being free! seven eleven and a target just round the corner, and somegreat eating places, including Phil's BBQ which is AMAZING if you forget the usual hour long que! (it's worth it)
Service is helpful, they agreed to look after our suitcases for us after check in as our fliht wasnt till the evening :D very friendly
I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again for sure

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel was just disgusting. Everything was dirty. The inside and the outside of the hotel. In our room the carpet was old and sticky (did not want to walk barefoot on it). The electrical outlet by the door didn't have a cover on it (which is not good when you have small children). I'm pretty sure there was mold growing on the ceiling of the bathroom. The room itself smelled. When people would walk outside of the room it was loud and would cause the room to bounce. You just feel so gross and dirty staying here. The staff was not very friendly. Sort of felt like I was bothering them when I was checking in and out. I would definitely not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Book the Comfort Inn & Suites in San Diego. Much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This must be the worst place i have every stayed in ever, anywhere in the world. the pictures are deceptive, and the sullen rude woman at the front desk does nothing to improve your stay. I got a cab out of there first thing in the morning without "breakfast". Thats another story. The breakfast room was a shocker, the hotel bedroom stank and smelled of mould and bad air freshner. I can say the bathroom was clean with clean towels and linen. Do not be misled by the pretty pictures like i was. The place was a dump with a capital D and i would not recommend it to anyone. It was ghastly!!

Room Tip: I never saw a good room or a fitness center or a restaurant. Well, nothing that defines those items...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Noisy, not too clean. Close to Sea World and freeways. Gentleman's club across the street was very busy on a Saturday night with busloads of patrons arriving hourly. Loud neighbors, thin walls. Towels plentiful but thin and scratchy. Room given initially was occupied and I had to return to the front desk for reassignment. IHOP immediately next door was very convenient. Grocery store and Target across the street.

Room Tip: Room 314 is a mini-suite, decent size and reasonably comfortable. Do not accept 115, 215 or 315-they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I made a mistake by booking this room. The price was good, if I had known I was going to deal with the most rudest staff I would have never done it. Reserved a room with a king size bed stains all over the linnen. Room stayed humid through ought the whole trip. Telephone in the room didn't even work! This place is located LITERALLY across the busiest strip club I've ever witnessed. Now that I get home checking bank statements they had charged me an extra 100$ which was suppose to be my deposit upon check-in (which was never even stated I needed one when I called to book) This dump is full of thief's and run by the most rude staff I've ever encountered.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Good price close to everything in we wanted to see. Continental Breakfast included but if you don't want an IHOP is right next door. Happy Buffet down a few streets. Pool and Jacuzzi, room clean and free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Inn and Suites

Address: 3325 Midway Drive, San Diego, CA 92110
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Inn and Suites SeaWorld San Diego is a 46-room hotel located just one mile from SeaWorld San Diego, Old Town the San Diego Sports Arena and minutes from San Diego's most popular Beaches and Attractions! We offer special Discounted Room Rates for Military Personnel and their families. Call the hotel directly for our Best Rate Guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Motel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.