We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Bahia Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off Direct with Bahia
Ranked #41 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at a bay front room. The room was a bit small but was clean. The beds were very comfortable.

It was nice having the bay front room to just sit out and relax by the bay. It was a great view. There were chairs just outside our room to sit and also along the beach area. We had ducks come up to us in the morning in front of our room while we were sitting outside.

We did not actually get in the bay or rent the equipment offered but did watch several people paddle boarding out there.

The hotel is in a great location. The hotel was within walking distance of Mission Beach and Belmont Park. We had wonderful time on the beach.

We did go on the Bahia Belle in the evening during their family time on the boat. It was very relaxing.

We enjoyed the pool and hot tub on the property. Pool was a bit chilly but we adjusted quickly and the hot tub was very nice. Both were very spacious.

Parking was convenient. Was able to park right outside the room.

We did not eat there as food seemed pricey, but there are several other options within driving distance or you can also walk to Belmont Park for food options.

They had good customer service. Anytime we had a problem, we would call the front desk and they would respond immediately. We had to call for a few issues including having the room cleaned. But again, they took care of any issues immediately.

Overall we enjoyed the hotel and enjoyed our view of the bay.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    554
    234
    137
    121
See reviews for
755
492
45
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishopsteignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had been travelling for nearly 24 hours by the time we arrived so tired and a bit tetchy we got our room at 9pm in the dark. We had a family room for two adults and one 16 year old who had a double bed sofa made up. Room was second floor, and in the morning we realised it was overlooking the marina, utterly beautiful. Only had breakfast here, which was good, pancakes, cinnamon toast and full American, plus good coffee. We moved on to our next resort after a couple of days, but are dreaming of coming back soon as we can.
Hotel beach is lovely and the main town beach is great and a bit surfy .fab place.
We did all our bookings through World Travel Experts in London, very impressed.

Room Tip: Pretty much all rooms have a good view from what we could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Our 3rd trip was without surprises, Ray ( in Transportation ) was way above the norm, he picked us up at the airport and made sure we had all the extra's, we could not take with us on the plane but needed before we reached the hotel. Ray is better than family to us and always makes sure we get where we are going in comfort and on time. We will mis him greatly, until our next trip. The Hotel check in was, as always quick and we were taken to our large suite with hugh patio, over looking the bay and all its activities. It is hard for my wife and i to get around, so it is important to have a great view. One of the SEAL's passed on but Gracie was still there and was fun to watch. Perhaps they will find a new partner for Gracie before our next trip. The Service at the pool was great and the pool was as always clean and tidy and the Pool/towel man went out of his way to find a small board for my son, to use for all of our stay. If you are looking for a place to stay, thats well maintained and close but not to close to all the attractions in this area, STAY HERE and relax----WE DO.

Room Tip: We prefer a Patio over a balcony, over looking all the activities in the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We had a standard room (whatever that means) booked at the Bahia through Trailfinders. I should say that this had not been our first choice, but because we were staying during Comic Con week, hotels book-up very quickly.

On our arrival at reception (after an 11 hour fligtht from the UK) we were told that all the "doubles" were gone and an alternative room had to be arranged. This proved to be a Bay View Studio (with kitchen area). Bedding & towels very clean, though decor of suite seemed dated to us

If you like quiet rooms away from hotel arranged events such as Carnival night and the flexibility of self catering then this is the room for you. We had a brilliant view of Mission Bay & all the water sports. Complimentary tickets for a single trip on the Bahia Belle were included in the room price

We encountered 3 problems:
1. The floor linoleum in the kitchen area had recently been relayed, which made the kitchen floor sticky, as periodically glue squirted out from between the tiles.
2. Air con was very noisy and basically useless (it was at floor level & blasted in to a corner) so we turned it off most times
3. The in room safe was already locked - but security attended quickly to re-set this

Plus SIdes
Loved the pool - if you like it quiet, go early
Gift shop has good hours and useful stock items - we also booked our tickets to San Diego zoo through them (bit cheaper than buying them at the zoo)

Other Considerations
Breakfast is not included in the room price and we thought a bit pricey - but once we knew we had a kitchen area we used that instead
Need transport to get into San DIego.e.g. car, taxi or public transport. We used and would highly recommend the MTS transport system (buses & trolley cars), which were really clean, and generally helpful to tourists getting round SD

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

30+ guests at the resort for 2 days without a hitch. Restaurant was able to seat 25 within 15min. Excellent food. Tangier Bar, karaoke nite was a blast. Marina Suite rooms very quiet - Overall fantastic experience .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Came here with my family for mine and my mothers birthday. We had booked a bay view room which we they had sad was part of the building behind the bay front rooms. They upgraded us though do to it being their to celebrate birthdays. The front desk also gave us a card signed by them and a wine cheese platter as a complimentary gift. We picked up a box of and it wine for the gift shop which was amazing, I typically refuse to drink box wine. We also rented a sailboat at their rental spot, and it was really reasonable and the guys were helpful. Overall, this resort is very accommodating, they go the extra mile, and I would absolute stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Bahia was excellent in providing the guests of my wedding with exceptional care. My guests loved the service, rooms, and views! In addition, they enjoyed the location and close proximity to the beaches! The staff kept in correspondence with me during the planning of my wedding and were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in San Diego
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.