We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location...lots to do within walking distace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Bahia Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Direct with Bahia
Ranked #41 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Folsom, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Excellent location...lots to do within walking distace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great place for a family vacation. The suite on the bay is perfect for small family...Private beach and calm bay water just a couple steps away. Suite was large and clean and very private. Initially booked a garden view tower studio w/ kitchen online but was very disappointed upon arrival (would not have stayed in the room it was that bad). Went back to lobby and upgraded to the suite and was very happy. Seven year old loved the pool and the private beach. Paddle wheel boat ride was nice, it takes you to the other side of bay for additional dining and entertainment options and will ferry you back later in the evening (no need for a taxi). We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a bay view suite near the seal pond on the private beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    556
    234
    137
    121
See reviews for
758
493
46
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

So we stayed in a Bay Front Room. Seemed small, smaller than Paradise Point. We had to have maintenance fix the tub which was draining slow. TV had HBO but did not have ineractive function ie check out etc. My inlaws had a Deluxe Bay Front Suite (handicapped) Which seemed nice. Very nice Bay and sunset view. Very popular place for wedding there were several while we were there. My family liked seeing the Seal tank, but it only had one rescued at the time. Movie at the pool was cancelled due to weather. The kids liked the arts and crafts. My son loved the arcade, which had some compimentary games, but they were old and the arcade was small. The fitness center was small also only had one universal machine a couple treadmills and some dumbells, compared to Morgan Run. The pool also was nothing special compared to La Costa. We did use the complimentary tennis courts which had complimentary rackets and balls. We ended up renting the paddle board off site which we got with our van, which was much cheaper. The nice lagoon where our room was was great, nice and protected perfect for paddle boarding and we used our raft. My daughter caught a spotted bay bass from the shore there and we saw someone else catch one too. The location worked out good for us is was only about a mile away from Seaforth sprortfishing which we used to go offshore fishing, my wife caught a Yellowtail which we cooked in my inlaws suite, yum. We were also able to see the Sea World fireworks.

Staff was 50/50. Had good encounters, but also was met with downright rudenesss.

The Bahia Belle is the river boat style shuttle that travels across the bay to the sister resort Catamaran which has the Luau (Bhaia has Carnaval) Half hour trip each way starting at 6:30pm. Nice sunset view. They were selling sundaes on board for the family hour and had a waitress walking around taking drink orders , the adult only cruises start at 9:30 and serve cocktails. The rides are complimentary for guests. They had a DJ and Dance floor.

Green Features: They Have the standard towel on rack to save laundry services policy.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
First and foremost we apologize you felt like our staff was at times rude. Your review is being shared with our managers who oversee front-line employees to serve as a reminder that any hint of rudeness is unacceptable. We're glad to hear you were able to enjoy so many of our amenities, including use of the kitchen for the fish you caught! We hope you'll join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Brazilian Carnival on Mission Bay at the Bahia Hotel was a wonderful experience.

The extraordinary service provided by Rebeca is unmatched in the industry.

Rebeca went out of her way to make it a very special evening for all of us.

The food music and Brazilian dancers were great!

Thank You,
Have a Phenomenal Day,
Sincerely,
David and Barbara

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

On arrival we were given a room that smelled of dampness and Urine. We were offered another room at the other end of the block, which also smelled of dampness. On discussions with Andy the receptionist he did confirm the rooms suffered from Mildew and he could have them re-cleaned. On further discussions he couldn't help us anymore, but pointed me in the direction of a computer to find another hotel. This would have cost $995 for the room, which I did not have. I approached the desk again and a supervisor managed to find an improved room for the 3 of us. After one day the table lamp decided to stop working and whenever the hair dryer was used the power to the room cut off. really this put us off San Diego and the Bahia, maybe we were unlucky but I don't expect this from The USA and possibly the hotel needs some updating.

Room Tip: if you must stay here, opt for rooms with patio doors looking onto beach. This will allow for air to...
See more room tips
Green Features: Staff seemed to work very hard, keeping surrounding areas clean, possibly for all the weddings that take place on site.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We apologize you came across these odors and we remedied the problem as soon as your review was posted. This is unacceptable and we have deep cleaned the carpets in the two rooms you mentioned so future guests don't encounter the same issue. Our maintenance team has also addressed the electrical issue in your suite and we apologize that it slowed you down when getting ready for the day or evening. San Diego is nicknamed America's Finest City for good reason, especially because of our vibrant Mission Bay community, and we hope you'll consider staying with us again should your travels bring you here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This resort is more than beautiful, it is also home to a wonderful Brazilian Carnival Dinner show. If you want to feel like you stepped into the fun and excitement of Carnival, this is the place to be. From the refreshing Brazilian cocktail that you receive when you arrive to the delicious and plentiful buffet, the Bahia Resort has done it right. Offering everything from an informative exotic animal show, live Brazilian music, dancing to an impressive capoeira display all set on the beach with an amazing sunset as a backdrop. We enjoyed every minute of this experience and have already started planning our return.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

There are many good things about this property but there are a few things that would be problematic or show stoppers for some.

The good parts are that the location is excellent, the views really good, the pool was nice. They have a rescued seal that my daughter adored and it is on the beach. I didn't eat at the restaurant but the food looked very good. They do have special activities such as Movie nights at the pool and such that can add to the experience.

There were a few significant things to watch out for. We stayed in one of the towers. While the room was large and overall comfortable it was in my opinion rather shabby. It looks like it was hip circa 1972. It seemed clean, but there were places where the wall paper was bubbling off the walls, there were old stains on the couch, needs of a touch up paint, etc. There air conditioner was just adequate, the bathroom sink small and difficult to use, no working vent.

The shabbiness extended to their beach cabana's. We found them so un-inviting that we ended up not using the beach there. We found the public beach on the other side of the hotel better or walked to ocean a few blocks away.

Walking by some of the more recently remodeled rooms, they looked much nicer though smaller than the room we had. Also looked through the windows of some of the meeting rooms and those looked nice. I did seem like a nice place for a wedding.

Which brings me to the other downside. There were something like 5 weddings while we were there. In addition to taking up some of the prime spots they partied until 12:30 am and it was impossible to sleep even though we were 2 floors away. This was highly annoying. Fortunately only for the one night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for writing in and we're happy to know you enjoyed so many of the activities at our resort. We appreciate you pointing a few room shortfalls and these are being addressed and we're sorry for the inconveniences. As for the vent, please never hesitate to call our maintenance team, which is on call 24 hours a day. We're also doing a check of all our beach cabanas and while we make all 35 of them accessible to our hotel guests at no charge they should never be in need of repair and not just presentable, but comfortable. All weddings and events in our Mission Bay Ballroom have a 12:00 midnight curfew and we remind those guests to respect others as they depart. We apologize if some were noisy upon the conclusion of the parties. We hope you'll join us again should your travels take you back to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Our daughters wedding was at the Bahia just this last weekend. It was beautiful even though it rained during the ceremony on the beach! The staff managed to find enough umbrellas to keep us mostly dry and brought us warm towels to help cover us and dry off the seats. It was a wedding to remember! The reception was just as memorable - the food was delicious and the staff extremely gracious and helpful. Special thanks to Jose Robles, Lindsay Berhthiaume & Kadi Duff as they managed to pull off the whole thing despite a very challenging set of circumstances. Thanks to all at the Bahia for a nsimply lovely weekend. Nancy

Room Tip: The rooms at the far end of the resort where we stayed were lovely as they were quite large and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in San Diego
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.